HITACHI Scroll Compressor DA84PHDG-D1S2
Hitachi Scroll Compressor DA84PHDG-D1S2: Specifications, Performance and Selection Guide
Summary. The Hitachi DA84PHDG-D1S2 is an 18 HP class, vertical, DC inverter R-410A scroll compressor with 84 cm3/rev displacement. At the manufacturer's data centre rating it delivers 27.60 kW (94,170 BTU/h) of cooling capacity from 8.36 kW of input power, a COP of 3.30 W/W, across a 10 to 130 rps speed range.
Key facts at a glance
| Item | DA84PHDG-D1S2 | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Manufacturer | Johnson Controls-Hitachi Air Conditioning, brand Hitachi | Catalogue publisher block, 2021/02 release 3.0 |
| Official item status | Active compressor item, item number DA84PHDG-D1S2 | Hitachi technical documentation index, item key DA84PHDG_D1S2_JCH |
| Compressor type | Hermetic DC inverter scroll | Catalogue section heading, High Speed DC Inverter |
| Series | DA series; D means a 160 mm shell, high efficiency series | Catalogue nomenclature |
| Orientation | Vertical | Catalogue row |
| Nominal rating | 18 HP class | Catalogue row |
| Displacement | 84 cm3/rev | Catalogue row |
| Refrigerant | R-410A | Catalogue section heading and refrigerant digit 2 in the nomenclature |
| Power supply | 3 phase, 380-415 V 50 Hz, 440 V 60 Hz | Catalogue row and power source code D1 |
| Speed range | 10 to 130 rps (Hz) | Catalogue row |
| Rated cooling capacity | 27.60 kW, 94,170 BTU/h | Catalogue row |
| Rated power input | 8.36 kW | Catalogue row |
| COP | 3.30 W/W | Catalogue row |
| Chamber size | 160 mm | Catalogue row |
| Weight including oil | 39.0 kg, 86.00 lb | Catalogue row |
| Oil charge | 1.9 L | Catalogue row |
| Gas injection | Offered across the series; not fitted in this S build | Catalogue row plus nomenclature |
| Multiple connection | Available | Catalogue row |
| Certificate cell | Not stated for this row | Catalogue row |
| Product page on this site | None. The model has one article page | Site index and direct page check |
What is the Hitachi DA84PHDG-D1S2?
The Hitachi DA84PHDG-D1S2 is a hermetic DC inverter scroll compressor with a nominal displacement of 84 cm3/rev, filed by the manufacturer in the 18 HP class and built for equipment that runs long hours at high condensing temperatures. It is a vertical machine in a 160 mm shell weighing 39.0 kg with oil, and it belongs to the DC inverter group that the manufacturer catalogues specifically for data centre and energy storage duty. The whole family sits in the Hitachi scroll compressor range, which is the group page this site keeps for the brand's scroll line inside the wider scroll compressor category, and the brand's published articles are collected on the Hitachi article hub.
The model is worth a technical page of its own because of an unusual pairing in the manufacturer's own table: the DA84PHDG-D1*2 row and the 80 cm3/rev DD80PHDG-D1*2 row publish identical rated performance, 27.60 kW at a COP of 3.30 W/W, yet they do not reach it the same way. The 84 cm3/rev machine sweeps more volume per revolution and therefore reaches the same duty at a lower maximum speed, 130 rps against 150 rps. That difference is the practical selection question for this model, and it is set out in full below.
Two points should be settled before the numbers on this page are used in a purchase decision. The first is origin: this exact model string has no product page on this site, only an article page, so every rated figure below is taken from the manufacturer's catalogue and is labelled with that origin rather than presented as a page reading. The second is that 27.60 kW means very little unless the evaporating and condensing temperatures behind it are stated, so the test condition is given its own section rather than being buried in a table note.
What does the model code DA84PHDG-D1S2 mean?
Hitachi publishes the identification key for this scroll family in its own technical catalogue, so the string can be decoded rather than guessed. Read left to right, DA84PHDG-D1S2 splits into nine meaningful blocks:
| Block | Value | Meaning | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | D | Compressor code: D means a 160 mm shell, high efficiency series | Catalogue nomenclature |
| 2 | A | Design revision, letters assigned in order A, B, C, D | Catalogue nomenclature |
| 3 | 84 | Nominal displacement in cm3/rev | Catalogue nomenclature |
| 4 | P | Application: P means for air conditioner (K would mean for cold region) | Catalogue nomenclature |
| 5 | H | Orientation: H means vertical | Catalogue nomenclature |
| 6 | D | Compressor type: D means DC inverter (A would mean fixed speed) | Catalogue nomenclature |
| 7 | G | Origin marking: G means Guangzhou, marked when needed | Catalogue nomenclature |
| 8 | D1 | Power source: 3 phase, 380-415 V 50 Hz, 440 V 60 Hz | Catalogue nomenclature and power source table |
| 9 | S | Model type: no welded oil balance pipe and no gas injection | Catalogue nomenclature and model type table |
| 10 | 2 | Refrigerant: 2 means R410A (5 would mean R22, 6 would mean R32) | Catalogue nomenclature |
The power source block and the model type block carry the decisions that most often go wrong in a replacement order, so both are worth reading in full rather than at a glance.
| Power code | Supply | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| A1 | 3 phase, 200 V, 50 Hz / 3 phase, 200-220 V, 60 Hz | Catalogue power source table |
| D1 | 3 phase, 380-415 V, 50 Hz / 3 phase, 440 V, 60 Hz | Catalogue power source table |
| Model type | Welded oil balance pipe | Gas injection | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Y | Yes | Yes | Catalogue model type table |
| J | Yes | No | Catalogue model type table |
| S | No | No | Catalogue model type table |
| K | No | Yes | Catalogue model type table |
This decoding matters commercially, because it separates two things that are easy to confuse. The catalogue marks the DA84PHDG-D1*2 row as available in gas injection and multiple connection builds, but the letter in a specific order tells you which build you are actually buying. A DA84PHDG-D1S2 is supplied without the welded oil balance pipe and without gas injection. If a project needs gas injection, the same displacement is ordered with K or Y in that position instead, and the rest of the machine is unchanged. Buyers replacing an existing compressor should read the suffix from the nameplate rather than assume it matches a quotation, because the suffix changes with the pipe and injection arrangement while the capacity figures do not.
Technical specifications of the DA84PHDG-D1S2
| Parameter | Value | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Model row in the catalogue | DA84PHDG-D1*2, wildcard covering all four suffix builds | Catalogue row |
| Horizontal or vertical | Vertical | Catalogue row |
| Nominal rating, HP class | 18 | Catalogue row |
| Displacement | 84 cm3/rev | Catalogue row |
| Phase | 3 | Catalogue row |
| Voltage | 380-415 V / 440 V | Catalogue row |
| Speed range and frequency | 10 to 130 rps (Hz) | Catalogue row |
| Rated cooling capacity, metric | 27.60 kW | Catalogue row |
| Rated cooling capacity, imperial | 94,170 BTU/h | Catalogue row |
| Rated power input | 8.36 kW | Catalogue row |
| COP | 3.30 W/W | Catalogue row |
| Chamber size | 160 mm | Catalogue row |
| Weight including oil, metric | 39.0 kg | Catalogue row |
| Weight including oil, imperial | 86.00 lb | Catalogue row |
| Oil charge | 1.9 L | Catalogue row |
| Gas injection type availability | Yes, within the series | Catalogue row |
| Multiple connection type availability | Yes | Catalogue row |
| Certificate | Not stated for this row | Catalogue row |
Three arithmetic cross-checks confirm that the published row is internally consistent, which is the strongest verification available without a test report. Dividing 27.60 kW of capacity by 3.30 W/W of COP gives 8.36 kW of input power, exactly the figure printed in the input column. Multiplying 27.60 kW by 3,412 BTU/h per kW gives 94,171 BTU/h, which is the printed imperial capacity of 94,170 BTU/h to within rounding. And the metric and imperial weight columns describe one machine: 39.0 kg times 2.2046 gives 86.0 lb, matching the printed 86.00 lb.
The same checks applied to the neighbouring rows in the identical table separate a real rating from a copied one. Every other model in the DC inverter block produces a COP that matches its own capacity divided by its own input, with no exceptions: the 12 HP AA55 row gives 17.54 divided by 5.48, which is 3.20 W/W as printed; the 22 HP DD98 row gives 31.86 divided by 9.99, which is 3.19 W/W as printed. A row whose three figures did not agree would have to be treated as a typographical artefact rather than a rating, and this row does agree. That is why the figures above can be used as catalogue values with confidence, while still being catalogue values and not a guarantee for any particular installation.
What test condition do these ratings use?
Hitachi prints the rating condition beside the table rather than inside it, and it is a high condensing condition rather than a comfort cooling one.
| Condition | Value | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Evaporating temperature | 7.2 C | Catalogue test condition table |
| Condensing temperature | 54.4 C | Catalogue test condition table |
| Suction gas temperature | 18.3 C | Catalogue test condition table |
| Expansion valve inlet temperature | 46.1 C | Catalogue test condition table |
| Ambient temperature | 35.0 C | Catalogue test condition table |
| Frequency | 50 Hz | Catalogue test condition table |
| Rotation speed, DC inverter | 60 rps | Catalogue test condition table |
| Compressor cooling | Not applicable on this row | Catalogue test condition table |
Read with the evaporating and condensing points above, 27.60 kW is a capacity at a 47.2 K lift, not a room air conditioning capacity at a temperate climate point. Capacity falls as condensing temperature rises and as evaporating temperature falls, so a compressor selected on a catalogue figure alone will be undersized in a hot plant room and oversized in a cold one. Compare the required duty at the operating evaporating and condensing temperatures the system will actually see, and treat the catalogue figure as the anchor for that comparison rather than as the answer.
It is also worth being precise about what this condition is not. It is not the AHRI 540 dew point rating set, and it is not an ISO 5151 T1 or T3 air conditioner rating. The manufacturer publishes both bases elsewhere for other scroll families, and ratings taken from different bases cannot be subtracted from one another or compared across catalogue pages. Where a project specifies a rated condition, ask for the capacity at that condition rather than reusing the figure in this table. The standard behind positive displacement compressor rating practice is AHRI 540, the performance rating standard for positive displacement refrigerant compressors, which defines the condition sets that rating tables like this one are built on.
How does the DA84PHDG-D1S2 perform?
Performance in this model is best described as a rated duty reached at a restrained speed. The 84 cm3/rev displacement combined with a 10 to 130 rps speed range lets the compressor hold 27.60 kW at 60 rps in the catalogue test condition while still having headroom to the top of its range, and the same displacement gives it more capacity per revolution than any other model in the same shell size except the 98 and 110 cm3/rev rows that step above it in physical size and weight.
The clearest way to read that is against the 80 cm3/rev row from the same table, because the two publish the same rating from different geometry.
| Parameter | DD80PHDG-D1*2 | DA84PHDG-D1*2 | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Displacement | 80 cm3/rev | 84 cm3/rev | Catalogue rows |
| Nominal rating | 18 HP class | 18 HP class | Catalogue rows |
| Speed range | 10 to 150 rps | 10 to 130 rps | Catalogue rows |
| Rated cooling capacity | 27.60 kW, 94,170 BTU/h | 27.60 kW, 94,170 BTU/h | Catalogue rows |
| Rated power input | 8.36 kW | 8.36 kW | Catalogue rows |
| COP | 3.30 W/W | 3.30 W/W | Catalogue rows |
| Chamber size | 160 mm | 160 mm | Catalogue rows |
| Weight including oil | 39.0 kg, 86.00 lb | 39.0 kg, 86.00 lb | Catalogue rows |
| Oil charge | 1.9 L | 1.9 L | Catalogue rows |
For the same rated output and the same stated efficiency, the higher displacement machine runs to a lower maximum speed, 130 rps rather than 150 rps. Sliding vane and bearing loads scale with speed, and sound and vibration behaviour follows the same direction, so a lower top speed at an identical duty is the mechanical argument for the larger displacement unit in applications where the compressor is close to occupied space or expected to run near maximum for long periods. The counter-argument is also real: the 150 rps range of the 80 cm3/rev row gives more capacity turndown above the rated point, so a system that needs short bursts of extra capacity at high ambient may prefer it. Neither choice is universally better, and the catalogue publishes no sound power figures for either row, so noise must be confirmed from the supplier rather than inferred from speed.
Several of the efficiency features the manufacturer lists for this family are the reason the model holds its COP across a wide speed band rather than only at the rated point. Bypass valves let the compressor adapt its internal pressure ratio to the load, which the catalogue describes as improving part load efficiency at low ambient cooling. A rare earth permanent magnet motor is listed as providing stepless speed control and accurate capacity modulation. A special asymmetric scroll wrap is listed as reducing useless superheat and improving volumetric efficiency. Those are manufacturer statements about the family rather than measured results for the DA84PHDG-D1S2, and they are reported here as such.
Where is the Hitachi DA84PHDG-D1S2 used?
The manufacturer catalogues this DC inverter group for data centre and energy storage duty, and states the application in its own words on the range page. The Hitachi process and precision cooling scroll compressor range lists its application as internet data centre and energy storage system, and describes the DC inverter scroll compressor as meeting the energy saving and high reliability requirements of high efficiency computer room and data centre air conditioners and energy storage air conditioners, enabling units to reach ultra high energy efficiency. That statement is about the family rather than about this row in isolation, but it is the manufacturer's own placement of the group this model belongs to, and it is the reason the model's catalogue is titled for data centre application.
| Application | Why the model fits | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Internet data centre and computer room air conditioning | Manufacturer catalogues the group for this duty and for high efficiency computer room units | Hitachi range page and catalogue title |
| Energy storage system thermal management | Same group, listed by the manufacturer alongside data centre duty | Hitachi range page |
| Process and precision cooling | Continuous duty at elevated condensing temperature, which is the catalogue test condition | Catalogue test condition and range page |
| Commercial air conditioning and heat rejection plant | 27.60 kW at a 54.4 C condensing point suits high ambient plant rooms | Catalogue row |
| Parallel and rack mounted compressor arrangements | Multiple connection type marked available for this row | Catalogue row |
| Replacement in existing DC inverter equipment | Published ratings and a decodable suffix allow a like for like comparison | Catalogue nomenclature and rows |
| Case | Why this model is the wrong choice | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| A system that needs gas injection to reach its low temperature duty | The S suffix build has no gas injection; a K or Y build of the same displacement is required | Catalogue nomenclature |
| A system needing a supply outside 380-415 V 50 Hz or 440 V 60 Hz | That is what D1 means; the A1 build is the other coded supply | Catalogue power supply table |
| A refrigerant conversion to a low GWP fluid | The model is an R-410A row; substitution is a system design question, not a like for like swap | Catalogue section heading |
| A project that needs a published certificate | The certificate cell is not stated for this row | Catalogue row |
The wider case for these machines is a demand side one. The International Energy Agency estimates in Energy and AI, published in 2025 that data centres consumed about 415 TWh in 2024, roughly 1.5 percent of world electricity, growing at about 12 percent a year since 2017, and projects consumption near 945 TWh by 2030. Cooling is a large and continuous part of that load, which is why compressor efficiency in computer room air conditioning units is a running cost question rather than a specification formality. The same report notes that the International Energy Agency's figures are published under a CC BY 4.0 licence.
Why choose the DA84PHDG-D1S2?
Five selection advantages follow directly from the published row and from the family design notes the manufacturer prints alongside it. Each one is stated with the evidence it rests on, because a selection advantage without a basis is only a marketing sentence.
A rated duty that is credible at a high condensing point. The 27.60 kW rating is set at 54.4 C condensing and 35.0 C ambient rather than at a mild condition, so it describes performance in the plant room conditions that data centre and process cooling equipment actually sees, not a laboratory best case.
The same output at a lower maximum speed than the smaller displacement row. 130 rps against 150 rps for an identical 27.60 kW and an identical 3.30 W/W is a durability argument, since bearing and vane loads track speed. It is a noise argument in direction as well, although no sound figure is published for either row.
A wide 10 to 130 rps inverter band. The catalogue's feature notes credit bypass valves with self adapting variable pressure ratios and better partial load efficiency at low ambient cooling, and the permanent magnet motor with stepless speed control and accurate capacity modulation. A wide band is what lets a unit follow a variable cooling load instead of cycling.
Parallel operation support. The multiple connection type is marked available for this row, and the manufacturer's own feature notes describe a patented dynamic oil balance structure for multiple compressor applications, a flatter arrangement for parallel work and simpler oil management that reduces installation cost. For a rack of compressors on one circuit, that is the relevant engineering claim.
A decodable, currently active part number. The string is listed as an active compressor item in the manufacturer's technical documentation index, and every block of it is defined in the manufacturer's own identification key, so a buyer can verify a quotation against the nameplate without guesswork. That is unusual for a model in this displacement class and it is the reason this guide can print a full specification table instead of a list of items to confirm.
The candidate's existing page for this model does the opposite. It lists refrigerant, voltage and frequency, displacement and capacity, and oil and operating envelope as items to be confirmed, and states that model specific values should be confirmed from the nameplate or current manufacturer documentation before purchase. That caution is sound practice, but it leaves a buyer with no specification at all, and it is the gap this page closes.
How does it compare with other Hitachi scroll compressors?
The full DC inverter block from the same catalogue table, in ascending nominal rating, is the correct comparison set because every row shares one test condition and one sheet.
| Model row | HP class | Displacement | Speed range | Capacity kW | Capacity BTU/h | Input kW | COP | Chamber | Weight kg | Oil L | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AA55PHDG-D1*2 | 12 | 55 | 15-140 | 17.54 | 59,811 | 5.48 | 3.20 | 150 | 33.0 | 1.6 | Catalogue row |
| AD55PHDG-D1*2 | 12 | 55 | 10-150 | 18.20 | 62,100 | 5.60 | 3.25 | 150 | 32.0 | 1.6 | Catalogue row |
| DC65PHDG-D1*2 | 14 | 65 | 10-130 | 21.70 | 73,997 | 6.58 | 3.30 | 160 | 38.0 | 1.6 | Catalogue row |
| AD65PHDG-D1*2 | 14 | 65 | 10-150 | 21.60 | 73,700 | 6.65 | 3.25 | 150 | 33.0 | 1.6 | Catalogue row |
| DD80PHDG-D1*2 | 18 | 80 | 10-150 | 27.60 | 94,170 | 8.36 | 3.30 | 160 | 39.0 | 1.9 | Catalogue row |
| **DA84PHDG-D1*2** | **18** | **84** | **10-130** | **27.60** | **94,170** | **8.36** | **3.30** | **160** | **39.0** | **1.9** | Catalogue row |
| DD98PHDG-D1*2 | 22 | 98 | 10-130 | 31.86 | 108,643 | 9.99 | 3.19 | 160 | 44.0 | 1.9 | Catalogue row |
| DD110DHDG-D1*2 | 24 | 110 | 20-140 | 36.30 | 123,860 | 11.00 | 3.30 | 160 | 46.0 | 2.3 | Catalogue row |
Read down the capacity column and the shape of the range is clear: the DC inverter block covers roughly 17.5 kW to 36.3 kW, which is the upper half of the manufacturer's published 5 kW to 90 kW scroll capacity axis. The DA84PHDG-D1*2 sits in the middle of that block as one of two 18 HP options, and it is the lighter of the two routes to 27.60 kW in terms of top speed.
The same catalogue also publishes a fixed speed group that covers part of the same duty, and the contrast is instructive for anyone deciding between inverter and fixed speed equipment.
| Model | HP class | Displacement | Capacity kW | Capacity BTU/h | Input kW | COP | Gas injection | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| E505DH-49D2G | 5 | 49 | 12.90 | 43,989 | 4.27 | 3.02 | No | Catalogue row |
| E605DH-59D2G | 6 | 59 | 15.44 | 52,650 | 5.13 | 3.01 | No | Catalogue row |
| E655DH-65D2G | 6.5 | 65 | 17.10 | 58,311 | 5.70 | 3.00 | No | Catalogue row |
| E855DH-80D2G | 8.5 | 80 | 20.97 | 71,508 | 7.08 | 2.96 | No | Catalogue row |
Two differences stand out rather than one. The fixed speed group tops out around 21.0 kW, well below the DC inverter block, and its published COP falls from 3.02 to 2.96 as displacement rises, against 3.19 to 3.30 across the inverter block. Neither statement makes fixed speed the wrong choice for a constant load process chiller, where a machine running at one point all day does not need an inverter band. It does mean that a variable load application will not find the same efficiency in the fixed speed group.
Sibling models in the same series and suffix shape have their own pages on this site, and they are the correct place to check an adjacent displacement before ordering. The closest on-site equivalent to this model is the DA80PHDG-D1S2 page, one displacement step below at 80 cm3/rev, and the same machine is also recorded under a second suffix on the DA80PHDG-D1Y2 page, which is the useful pair to read side by side when a quotation disagrees about the pipe arrangement. Stepping up in capacity, the DD98PHDG-D1S2 detail page carries the 98 cm3/rev row, and two further rows in the block have their own records, the DC80PHDG-D1S2 page and the AA55PHDG-D1S2 page. All five pages were reachable when this guide was written.
Those pages should be read as listings rather than as a specification source, and three specific patterns on them are worth knowing before a figure is copied into a tender document. On the DA80PHDG-D1S2 page the specification bullets and the detail table both print a supply of 220 V, while the identical model on the DA80PHDG-D1Y2 page prints 380-415 V; the D1 code in the model string means 380-415 V, so the 220 V entries do not agree with the part number they describe. The DA80PHDG-D1S2 detail table names a different model, DA80PHDG-D1Y2, in its model row, and the DD98PHDG-D1S2 page names DD98PHDG-D1Y2 in both of its detail tables. And the AA55PHDG-D1S2 and AA50PHDG-D1S2 pages print an identical 5,070 W input, 16.48 kW capacity and COP of 3.37 despite displacements of 55 and 50 cm3/rev, which cannot both be model specific measurements. None of these patterns changes the figures in this guide, which come from the manufacturer's catalogue, but they are the reason the catalogue is the source of record here.
Which refrigerant does the DA84PHDG-D1S2 use, and what do F-gas rules require?
The refrigerant digit in the model string is 2, which the manufacturer's identification key defines as R410A, and the catalogue sheet this row sits on is headed for R410A. R-410A is a blend rather than a single substance, which is the detail that decides how it is treated under refrigerant regulation.
| Property | R-410A | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| ASHRAE designation composition | R-32 / R-125 at 50.0 / 50.0 percent by mass | ASHRAE Standard 34 designation tables; independently confirmed as HFC-32 50 percent and HFC-125 50 percent in the German Federal Environment Agency GWP table |
| Component, R-32 | Difluoromethane, CH2F2, GWP100 675, safety group A2L | German Federal Environment Agency GWP table, F-gas Regulation column |
| Component, R-125 | Pentafluoroethane, CHF2CF3, GWP100 3,500 | German Federal Environment Agency GWP table, F-gas Regulation column |
| Blend GWP100, AR4 column | 2,088 | German Federal Environment Agency GWP table |
| Blend GWP100, AR5 column | 1,924 | German Federal Environment Agency GWP table |
| Blend GWP100, F-gas Regulation column | 2,088 | German Federal Environment Agency GWP table, the column keyed to Regulation (EU) 2024/573 |
The blend figure has to be taken from a table that prints it, because a mixture global warming potential is not the average of its parts. The German Federal Environment Agency publishes a table of global warming potentials of selected compounds and their mixtures keyed to the fourth and fifth IPCC assessment reports and to Regulation (EU) 2024/573, and it carries R-410A as a blend row with the three column values above. The European Commission's own refrigerant pages list R-410A mainly in the column of substances being replaced rather than printing its standalone value, so they are the wrong page to cite for this number even though they are the right page for the regulation itself.
What the value means in practice is that R-410A sits well above the thresholds that the current European regulation uses for new equipment. The regulation is Regulation (EU) 2024/573 on fluorinated greenhouse gases, in force since 11 March 2024 and replacing Regulation (EU) 517/2014, and the timetable that follows is taken from the Commission's own summary of the prohibitions.
| Equipment class | Threshold | Prohibited from | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single split air conditioning systems containing less than 3 kg of F-gas | GWP 750 or more | 1 January 2025 | Commission F-gas air conditioning prohibitions |
| Self contained air conditioning and heat pumps up to and including 12 kW | GWP 150 or more | 1 January 2027 | Commission F-gas air conditioning prohibitions |
| Self contained air conditioning and heat pumps up to and including 12 kW | All F-gases | 1 January 2032 | Commission F-gas air conditioning prohibitions |
| Monoblock and self contained air conditioning and heat pumps above 12 kW to 50 kW | GWP 150 or more | 1 January 2027 | Commission F-gas air conditioning prohibitions |
| Monoblock and self contained air conditioning and heat pumps above 12 kW to 50 kW | All F-gases | 1 January 2030 | Commission F-gas air conditioning prohibitions |
| Split air to air systems up to and including 12 kW | GWP 150 or more | 1 January 2029 | Commission F-gas air conditioning prohibitions |
| Split air to air systems up to and including 12 kW | All F-gases | 1 January 2035 | Commission F-gas air conditioning prohibitions |
| Split systems above 12 kW | GWP 750 or more | 1 January 2029 | Commission F-gas air conditioning prohibitions |
| Split systems above 12 kW | GWP 150 or more | 1 January 2033 | Commission F-gas air conditioning prohibitions |
| Stationary chillers | GWP 2,500 or more | 1 January 2020 | Commission F-gas air conditioning prohibitions |
| Stationary chillers up to and including 12 kW | GWP 150 or more | 1 January 2027 | Commission F-gas air conditioning prohibitions |
| Stationary chillers up to and including 12 kW | All F-gases | 1 January 2032 | Commission F-gas air conditioning prohibitions |
| Stationary chillers above 12 kW | GWP 750 or more | 1 January 2027 | Commission F-gas air conditioning prohibitions |
Two conclusions follow for anyone buying this model into a European project, and both are about the complete unit rather than about the compressor as a component. First, the prohibitions in the table above apply to equipment placed on the market, so a component with a GWP of 2,088 is not itself prohibited; the unit it is built into may be. Second, the timetable above is the European instrument and does not govern other markets, where different phase down schedules apply. The German Federal Environment Agency summary of the EU F-gas regulation is the page that sets out the operator obligations and the annex structure behind the dates, and it links the global warming potential table used above.
What should you check before ordering a DA84PHDG-D1S2?
Eight checks cover the failures that actually happen on this model, and each one is written so that it produces a yes or no rather than an impression.
- Read the full suffix from the nameplate. Confirm the order is DA84PHDG-D1S2 and not a K or Y build of the same displacement. The capacity is identical across the four suffix variants; the pipe and gas injection arrangement is not.
- Confirm the supply matches the D1 code. D1 means 3 phase, 380-415 V 50 Hz or 440 V 60 Hz. A site on a 200 V class supply needs the A1 build instead.
- Compare capacity at your own operating point. The catalogue figure is set at 7.2 C evaporating and 54.4 C condensing. Ask for capacity at the evaporating and condensing temperatures the system will run at, and at the ambient the plant room will reach.
- Check the gas injection requirement before ordering. The S build has no gas injection. If the original system used it, order K or Y at the same displacement rather than accepting an S build and adding a circuit modification on site.
- Confirm the physical envelope. The machine is 39.0 kg with an oil charge of 1.9 L in a 160 mm chamber. Check mounting points, pipe connection sizes and service clearance against the site drawings, since the site's own pages do not print all of them.
- Verify the oil specification and oil return design. The catalogue prints the charge volume, 1.9 L, but not the lubricant grade for this row, so the oil requirement must come from the supplier.
- Plan the parallel arrangement if multiple connection is used. The row supports multiple connection and the family uses a dynamic oil balance structure, so the pipe layout and oil management scheme matter as much as the compressor choice.
- Re-check the refrigerant position for the destination market. The model is an R-410A row with a blend GWP100 of 2,088 in the regulation column. Establish which phase down or prohibition timetable applies to the equipment being supplied before committing to a design.
The site keeps a general download page, and it is worth saying plainly that it does not currently carry a Hitachi document. The manufacturer's own literature is the only complete source found for this model, and the official catalogue PDF is listed in the sources below.
Frequently asked questions
What is the capacity of the Hitachi DA84PHDG-D1S2?
27.60 kW, which is 94,170 BTU/h, at the manufacturer's data centre rating condition of 7.2 C evaporating and 54.4 C condensing with a 35.0 C ambient. The rated power input at that point is 8.36 kW and the resulting COP is 3.30 W/W. All four figures are published in the same row of the manufacturer's catalogue, and they reconcile: 27.60 divided by 8.36 is 3.30.
Which refrigerant does the DA84PHDG-D1S2 use?
R-410A. The final digit of the model string is the refrigerant code, and 2 is defined as R410A in the manufacturer's own identification key. The section of the catalogue this row appears in is headed for R410A. R-410A is a blend of R-32 and R-125 at 50.0 and 50.0 percent by mass, with a blend GWP100 of 2,088 in the column of the German Federal Environment Agency table keyed to Regulation (EU) 2024/573.
Does the DA84PHDG-D1S2 have gas injection?
The series does, but the S in this string means the build supplied does not. The catalogue marks the DA84PHDG-D1*2 row as available for the gas injection type, which describes what the family offers. The model type table defines S as without welded oil balance pipe and without gas injection, so a DA84PHDG-D1S2 arrives without that circuit. If gas injection is required, order the same displacement in a K or Y build.
Is the DA84PHDG-D1S2 an inverter compressor or a fixed speed compressor?
It is a DC inverter machine. The sixth block of the model string is a D, which the identification key defines as DC inverter, and the catalogue places the row in the High Speed DC Inverter block with a 10 to 130 rps speed range. Its own catalogue sheet is titled for data centre application and sits beside a separate fixed speed group headed by the E series, which reaches about 21.0 kW.
Is there a DA84PHDG-D1S2 product page on this site?
No. The site index carries no product URL containing da84, and the only address for this model is its article page, the DA84PHDG-D1S2 scroll compressor article, which appeared before this guide and did not state a single rated value. Every figure in this guide therefore comes from the manufacturer's catalogue and is labelled with that origin rather than presented as a page reading. The nearest product pages the site does carry are the DA80, DD98, DC80, DC65 and AA55 records linked above.
Which compressor can replace a DA84PHDG-D1S2?
Only another 84 cm3/rev unit in the same series matches the displacement, and the suffix has to match the pipe arrangement, so the direct equivalent is the same model string with the same final block. The 80 cm3/rev DD80PHDG-D1*2 row publishes an identical 27.60 kW and 3.30 W/W and could suit a system being redesigned, but it is a different part number with a different displacement and a 10 to 150 rps range, and substituting it changes the equipment as built. Treat any cross model substitution as an engineering change with a capacity check at your own operating point rather than as a replacement.
Sources
- Hitachi scroll compressor catalogue for data centre application, 2021/02 release 3.0, document DC-202102THQ-G, published by Johnson Controls-Hitachi Air Conditioning, New Pier Takeshiba South Tower, 1-16-1 Kaigan Minato-ku, Tokyo 105-0022, Japan. This is the source of every rated value for the DA84PHDG-D1*2 row, of the eight row comparison set, of the fixed speed E series rows, and of the test condition table: official catalogue PDF, 961,309 bytes, served as application/pdf. The catalogue notes that the manufacturer reserves the right to modify information at any time without prior notice.
- Same catalogue, landing page in the manufacturer's English resource library, used to confirm the document identity and the download route: catalogue record page.
- Hitachi technical documentation index for the scroll compressor model range, the source of the statement that DA84PHDG-D1S2 is an active item, item key DA84PHDG_D1S2_JCH, in the Compressor fieldset: documentation index for the A/C/D, A/K, P/H, A/D, G, A1/D1, Y/J/S/K, 2/6 model family.
- Hitachi scroll compressor range page, the source of the statements that Hitachi pioneered the first scroll compressor, that the range is built on high pressure design principles, and that it carries more than eighty years of track record: Hitachi scroll compressor range.
- Hitachi process and precision cooling scroll compressor page, the source of the internet data centre and energy storage application statement quoted in this guide: process and precision cooling range. The page carries the notice that Hitachi Cooling and Heating products are manufactured and sold by Bosch Home Comfort Group, which is a trademark licensee of Hitachi, Ltd.
- Hitachi compressor portal, used to confirm the manufacturer channel and document library: Hitachi compressors, English portal.
- Hitachi heat pump scroll compressor catalogue, the source of the identification key quoted in this guide, including the compressor series codes, the application and orientation letters, the compressor type letters, the model type letters that define the S and K suffixes, the power source codes A1 and D1, and the refrigerant digit table: Hitachi scroll compressor for heat pump application, document R0000033070_JCH.
- ASHRAE Standard 34 refrigerant designation tables, the source of the R-410A blend ratio of 50.0 / 50.0 by mass, of the chemical names and formulas of R-32 and R-125, and of the safety group A2L for R-32: ASHRAE refrigerant designations.
- German Federal Environment Agency, global warming potentials of selected compounds and their mixtures, keyed to the fourth and fifth IPCC assessment reports and to Regulation (EU) 2024/573, the source of the R-410A blend GWP100 values of 2,088 and 1,924 and of the component values of 675 for HFC-32 and 3,500 for HFC-125: German Federal Environment Agency GWP table, PDF.
- German Federal Environment Agency, page on the EU regulation concerning fluorinated greenhouse gases, the source of the statement that Regulation (EU) 2024/573 applies from 11 March 2024 and replaces Regulation (EU) 517/2014, and of the operator obligation structure: German Federal Environment Agency, F-gas regulation summary, page last updated 11 October 2024.
- European Commission, climate friendly alternatives to F-gases for air conditioning, the source of the equipment prohibition timetable set out in this guide: Commission, air conditioning alternatives to F-gases, page last updated 9 April 2025.
- Regulation (EU) 2024/573 on fluorinated greenhouse gases, the instrument from whose annexes the Commission's global warming potential values and prohibition thresholds are taken: Regulation (EU) 2024/573.
- AHRI 540, the performance rating standard for positive displacement refrigerant compressors and compressor units, named here because the catalogue rating in this guide sits on a defined rating condition rather than an arbitrary one: AHRI 540, SI and I-P performance rating.
- IEC 60335-2-34:2024, particular requirements for motor compressors, the compressor level safety standard in the IEC 60335 household and similar electrical appliances series: IEC 60335-2-34:2024. The 2021 edition of this part was withdrawn on 20 November 2024, so the 2024 edition is the one named here.
- IEC 60335-2-40:2022, particular requirements for electrical heat pumps, air conditioners and dehumidifiers, issue date 25 May 2022, which covers refrigerant safety groups A1, A2L, A2 and A3: IEC 60335-2-40:2022.
- ISO 5149-1:2014, refrigerating systems and heat pumps, safety and environmental requirements, the system level standard that governs the installation rather than the compressor: ISO 5149-1:2014.
- ISO 817:2024, refrigerant designation and safety classification, which provides the designation system and the safety classification behind the A1 and A2L labels used in this guide: ISO 817:2024. The 2014 edition is withdrawn.
- ISO 5151:2017, non ducted air conditioners and heat pumps, testing and rating for performance, which defines the T1, T2 and T3 rating conditions referenced when this guide states that the catalogue condition is not an ISO 5151 air conditioner rating: ISO 5151:2017.
- International Energy Agency, Energy and AI, 2025, the source of the data centre electricity consumption figures quoted in the application section: IEA, Energy and AI, executive summary. Published under a CC BY 4.0 licence. A later International Energy Agency news item reports that data centre electricity use rose again in 2025: IEA, data centre electricity use in 2025.
- Site product pages checked for adjacent displacements in the same series, used for the defect observations and for the sibling link set rather than as a source of rated values: DC80PHDG-D1S2, AA50PHDG-D1S2, the 80 cm3/rev row one step below and the same machine under the Y suffix, which carries the 380-415 V entry that contradicts the 220 V entry on its sibling. The 65 cm3/rev row was also checked as a further control on the value pattern.
- Site prior articles on neighbouring Hitachi scroll models, used as the internal blog reading for this topic: Hitachi scroll compressor AA55PHDG-D1Y2 and Hitachi fixed speed low temperature refrigeration compressor.
- Site article index, used for the availability statements in this guide: news and articles index.
- Site resource index and address list, used for the statement that the site carries no product page for this model: site map.
- Site contact page used for the structured data in this guide: contact page.
What this guide does not verify
- The suffix combination on any specific unit. Every block of DA84PHDG-D1S2 is defined in the manufacturer's identification key and the string is an active item in the manufacturer's documentation index, but no photograph or nameplate of a physical unit was examined here. Read the suffix from the nameplate before ordering.
- Any certificate, approval or test report. The certificate cell in the manufacturer's row is not stated for this model, and nothing in this guide should be read as a statement that a certificate exists. The standards named above are standards, not certifications held by this compressor.
- Capacity at any operating point other than the catalogue condition. The 27.60 kW figure is valid at 7.2 C evaporating, 54.4 C condensing and 35.0 C ambient. Capacity at other evaporating and condensing temperatures is not published in the sources used here.
- Sound power or sound pressure level for this row. The manufacturer publishes no sound figure for the DA84PHDG-D1*2 row, so the lower speed argument in this guide is a mechanical argument and not a measured noise claim.
- The lubricant specification. The catalogue prints the 1.9 L charge volume but not the oil grade for this row.
- Physical dimensions beyond the chamber size. Shell diameter, overall height, mounting points and connection sizes for this row are not printed in the sources used here.
- Whether the compressor alone can carry a certified equipment rating. Ratings of this kind are established at equipment or system level, and the compressor level figures here do not transfer to a packaged unit without its own rating.
- Weight, current draw and starting characteristics in the installed system. These depend on the refrigerant charge, the circuit design and the drive settings, none of which are part of a compressor catalogue row.
- Price, minimum order quantity, lead time and packaging. Commercial terms are not published in any source used here.
- The site's own figures for the sibling models. The defects described above, including the 220 V entries on a D1 part number, the mismatched model names in two detail tables and the identical values printed for two different displacements, were observed on the live pages and are reported as observed. They are not used as evidence for anything in the tables above.
- Compliance of any particular installation with refrigerant regulation. The prohibition timetable quoted is the European instrument as summarised by the European Commission. Whether it applies to a given project depends on the equipment class, the charge, the market and the date of placing on the market, and that determination is a design and regulatory question rather than a compressor data question.
- That a substitution between the DA84 and DD80 rows is acceptable. The two rows publish identical rated performance and are not interchangeable parts, because the displacement and the speed range differ.
Get the DA84PHDG-D1S2 replacement checked before you order
Send the complete nameplate model string, the equipment type, the refrigerant, the electrical supply, the required capacity, the operating temperatures and the quantity. The specification data above can be matched against the unit being replaced, which is the step that prevents a suffix mismatch from becoming an installation problem. The Hitachi scroll compressor range is the place to start the comparison, and the site's inquiry form takes the request.
Hitach DA84PHDG-D1S2 Scroll Compressor