Mitsubishi Rotary Compressor SNB200FNMMC
Mitsubishi SNB200FNMMC Inverter Rotary Compressor: R410A Technical Data, Code Structure and Selection Guide
The Mitsubishi SNB200FNMMC is an inverter-driven hermetic rotary compressor for R410A in the manufacturer's SNB series. Its three-digit field denotes 20.0 cm3/rev displacement. Mitsubishi Electric publishes catalogue performance rows for the SNB series from 9.2 to 17.2 cm3/rev, and no row for the 20.0 cm3/rev step was located.
Key facts about the Mitsubishi SNB200FNMMC
The table below separates what the manufacturer publishes from what the reseller site publishes, and it marks which figures could be reproduced from the listing itself. The Basis column is the point of the table: a figure that only ever appears on a reseller page is a weaker fact than a figure in the manufacturer catalogue, and the two are never averaged or merged. Where nothing is published for this code, the table says so rather than borrowing the nearest sibling row.
| Item | Value | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Model code under discussion | SNB200FNMMC | Requested designation |
| Series | SNB, rotary, R410A, inverter | Manufacturer catalogue, rotary line-up table |
| Compressor type | Rotary, hermetic, inverter driven | Manufacturer catalogue, rotary line-up table |
| Refrigerant of the series | R410A | Manufacturer catalogue, rotary line-up table; corroborated by every reseller SNB page retrieved |
| Displacement | 20.0 cm3/rev | Derived from the three-digit field, decode verified against four catalogue rows |
| Motor rating | Not published | No catalogue row for the 20.0 cm3/rev step was located |
| Cooling capacity | Not published by the manufacturer | No catalogue row for the 20.0 cm3/rev step was located |
| Power consumption | Not published by the manufacturer | Same |
| Coefficient of performance | Not published by the manufacturer | Same |
| Reseller figure for this displacement class | 1,840 W input, 6,220 W cooling capacity, 21,223 BTU/h | SNB200FGMMC page, retrieved 2026-09-28; carries no rating condition |
| Reseller page for the exact code | None found | The exact address returns HTTP 404 |
| Speed range, SNB series | 15 to 130 rps | Manufacturer catalogue, SNB series table |
| Catalogue SNB rows | 9.2, 11.0, 13.0 and 17.2 cm3/rev | Manufacturer catalogue, SNB series table |
| Rating condition | 54.4 C condensing, 7.2 C evaporating, 27.8 K superheat, 8.3 K subcooling | Manufacturer catalogue, test conditions footnote |
| Sound power level | Not published | Absent from every source retrieved |
| Certification held by this compressor | None sighted | No certificate was retrieved, so no certification claim is made |
Two entries in that table do most of the work. The first is the refrigerant: the series assignment to R410A is stated by the manufacturer and repeated by every reseller page, so it is settled. The second is the absence of a manufacturer row for 20.0 cm3/rev, which is why this guide publishes no capacity, input or efficiency figure for this code as a manufacturer fact. What follows explains both.
What does the SNB200FNMMC model code decode to?
Mitsubishi Electric publishes a rotary model code legend in its refrigerant compressor catalogue, and it resolves several positions of this part number. The legend lists eight power supply codes on the rotary side. V is 220 to 240 V at 50 Hz single phase. G is 220 to 240 V at 50 Hz or 230 V at 60 Hz single phase. Y is 380 to 415 V at 50 Hz or 460 V at 60 Hz three phase. R is 100 V. W is 115 to 120 V at 60 Hz. S is 200 V. N is 208 to 230 V at 60 Hz. F marks an inverter. A separate legend carries the refrigerant letter, where B is R134a, E is R407C and N is R410A, and a further legend marks the special series B as BLDC-Cooling. The catalogue prints its worked example as S N B 130 F G B M T.
| Segment | Value in SNB200FNMMC | Meaning | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Series letters | SNB | SNB series, rotary, R410A, inverter | Manufacturer catalogue, rotary line-up table |
| Three-digit field | 200 | Displacement code, divided by ten | Verified against four catalogue rows, table below |
| Power supply position | F | F marks an inverter in the model code legend | Manufacturer catalogue, rotary model code legend |
| Letter after the power supply position | N | Coincides with the R410A refrigerant code, but the position is not decoded | See the note below |
| Trailing letters | MMC | Not decoded | No published legend covering these positions was located |
| Refrigerant of the series | R410A | Assigned by the line-up table, not by a code position | Manufacturer catalogue, rotary line-up table |
The letter that sits immediately after the inverter marker deserves careful treatment rather than a confident assertion, because the catalogue's own printed example contradicts the simple reading. In the example code S N B 130 F G B M T the letter in that position is G, and G is not a refrigerant code at all; it is the single-phase 220 to 240 V power supply code. In SNB200FNMMC the letter in that same position is N, which is the R410A refrigerant code but also the 208 to 230 V at 60 Hz power supply code. So the position carries a letter drawn from a code list that overlaps the refrigerant list without being the refrigerant list, and no published legend assigns a meaning to the position itself.
What the guide therefore does is separate two claims that are easy to run together. The series assignment to R410A is a manufacturer statement, printed in the line-up table and repeated on every reseller page for the family, and it is adopted here. The per-code meaning of the letter N in this particular part number is not decoded, and no claim is made that this model is R410A *because* of that letter. A buyer who needs the refrigerant confirmed for a specific purchase order should have it confirmed in writing, which is the same conclusion the code structure forces.
Do the displacement codes in the SNB family decode consistently?
The three-digit field decodes cleanly, and it can be tested rather than assumed. Four rows in the manufacturer catalogue's SNB table carry both a three-digit field and a printed displacement, and in all four the field divided by ten equals the printed displacement. The rule also holds on two reseller pages at other displacement classes. That is why the 20.0 cm3/rev figure for the 200 field can be treated as settled even though the manufacturer publishes no row for that step.
| Code | Three-digit field divided by 10 | Printed displacement | Source | Agrees |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SNB092FQAMT | 9.2 | 9.2 cm3/rev | Manufacturer catalogue | Yes |
| SNB110FGYMT | 11.0 | 11.0 cm3/rev | Manufacturer catalogue | Yes |
| SNB130FGBMT | 13.0 | 13.0 cm3/rev | Manufacturer catalogue | Yes |
| SNB172FEKMT | 17.2 | 17.2 cm3/rev | Manufacturer catalogue | Yes |
| SNB130FGAMC | 13.0 | 13 cm3/rev | Reseller page | Yes |
| SNB200FGMMC | 20.0 | 20 cm3/rev | Reseller page | Yes |
The rule passing at four catalogue rows and two reseller rows, across six distinct codes, is what allows the 20.0 cm3/rev figure to be used in this guide while the performance figures for the same step are withheld. The displacement comes from the code structure, which is published and testable. The capacity does not, because no manufacturer row carries it.
What does Mitsubishi Electric publish for the SNB series?
The manufacturer's SNB table is the authoritative published source for this family, and the first thing it establishes is where the family ends. It gives four rows, at 9.2, 11.0, 13.0 and 17.2 cm3/rev, together with the rotational speed range, a minimum and maximum cooling capacity, the power consumption at the reference speed of 60 revolutions per second, the current, the coefficient of performance, the mass and the oil charge. Every row shares one test condition set. Mitsubishi Electric states that these figures were measured at 54.4 C condensing temperature, 7.2 C evaporating temperature, rated voltage plus or minus 10 percent, 27.8 K superheat and 8.3 K subcooling.
| Model | Speed range rps | Capacity range W | Displacement cm3/rev | Cooling capacity W | Power W | Current A | COP W/W | Weight kg | Oil cm3 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SNB092FQAMT | 15 to 130 | 1,312 to 5,597 | 9.2 | 2,780 | 872 | 3.1 | 3.19 | 7.8 | 350 |
| SNB110FGYMT | 15 to 130 | 1,577 to 6,317 | 11.0 | 3,294 | 1,033 | 6.9 | 3.19 | 7.8 | 350 |
| SNB130FGBMT | 15 to 130 | 1,849 to 7,833 | 13.0 | 3,912 | 1,254 | 5.8 | 3.12 | 7.9 | 350 |
| SNB172FEKMT | 15 to 130 | 2,528 to 10,194 | 17.2 | 5,237 | 1,636 | 6.9 | 3.20 | 8.8 | 700 |
The largest row the manufacturer publishes for the family is 17.2 cm3/rev. The 20.0 cm3/rev step that this guide's model code denotes is therefore outside the published range of the family table, and that is a load-bearing fact rather than a footnote: it means any capacity figure quoted for this code comes from a reseller, and every published manufacturer figure a buyer might compare it against belongs to a *smaller* compressor.
Two further properties of the table are worth reading off directly. The speed range is identical across all four rows, 15 to 130 revolutions per second, which is what makes the family suitable for capacity modulation rather than on-off duty; an inverter rotary's part-load behaviour is set by this range, not by the single reference-speed row. And the capacity range is wide relative to the reference figure in every row, because the minimum is a low-speed value and the maximum is a high-speed value at the same rating condition rather than at a different one.
How does the reseller block compare with the manufacturer data?
This is the comparison a sourcing engineer actually needs, and it has to be done carefully, because the obvious comparison is not available. There is no manufacturer row at 20.0 cm3/rev, so there is nothing to place the reseller's 6,220 W against at that displacement. The comparison that *is* available sits one step down, at 13.0 cm3/rev, where both a catalogue row and a reseller page exist for an SNB130 code. That single overlapping class is worth working through, because it tells a buyer how the reseller's numbers relate to the manufacturer's.
| Quantity | Manufacturer, SNB130FGBMT | Reseller, SNB130FGAMC | Difference | Difference percent |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Displacement | 13.0 cm3/rev | 13.0 cm3/rev | 0 | 0.0 |
| Cooling capacity | 3,912 W | 4,100 W | plus 188 W | plus 4.8 |
| Power consumption | 1,254 W | 1,200 W | minus 54 W | minus 4.3 |
| Implied coefficient of performance | 3.12 | 3.42 | plus 0.30 | plus 9.5 |
| Refrigerant | R410A | R410A | none | none |
| Stated rating condition | 54.4 C condensing, 7.2 C evaporating | Not stated | Not comparable | Not comparable |
The gap at this class is small, and its shape is the interesting part. Elsewhere in this manufacturer's listings the same style of reseller table has been observed to overstate capacity by around 20 percent, as on the Mitsubishi Compressor KB122YPEC-MS page. Here capacity is 4.8 percent high and input is 4.3 percent low. Both differences point the same way, so they compound: capacity up combined with input down is not what a different rating point normally produces, because a lower condensing temperature or a higher evaporating temperature raises capacity and *lowers* input together only when the machine also becomes more efficient. The implied coefficient of performance rises 9.5 percent.
| Quantity | Reseller, SNB200 class | Manufacturer range for the family | Relationship |
|---|---|---|---|
| Displacement | 20.0 cm3/rev | 9.2 to 17.2 cm3/rev | Outside the published table |
| Cooling capacity | 6,220 W | 2,780 to 5,237 W | Above every published row |
| Implied coefficient of performance | 3.38 | 3.12 to 3.20 | Above every published row |
| Rating condition | Not stated | 54.4 C condensing, 7.2 C evaporating | Not comparable |
| Manufacturer row for this step | None located | Not applicable | Unresolved |
The lower table is the honest statement of the position for this code. The reseller's implied coefficient of performance of 3.38 is derived by dividing its capacity by its own input, and it is *higher than every one of the four published catalogue rows*, including the 17.2 cm3/rev row the manufacturer places closest to it. A larger displacement compressor in the same family would not normally be expected to out-efficiency every smaller member of that family at one shared reference condition, and the reseller figure has no stated reference condition of its own. The difference is therefore reported and left unresolved, because a capacity without its rating point cannot be placed against a capacity with one.
Why does one identical block cover the SNB200 variants?
Two reseller pages for the 20.0 cm3/rev class were retrieved and compared field by field, and both print the same specification block once the model name at the front is removed. The block reads 20 cm3/rev, 1,840 W input, 6,220 W or 21,223 BTU/h capacity, R410A, and a drive description in the field the template labels for voltage. The model name is the only field that differs between the two pages. The block does vary by displacement class: at 13.0 cm3/rev the same site prints 1,200 W input, 4,100 W capacity and 13,989 BTU/h, so the template is filled from a per-displacement data row and then reused for every variant of that row.
| Reseller page | Model on page | Displacement | Input | Capacity | BTU/h | Block differs from the other |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| snb200fgmmc | SNB200FGMMC | 20 cm3/rev | 1,840 W | 6,220 W | 21,223 | No |
| snb200fkmmc-l1 | SNB200FKMMC-L1 | 20 cm3/rev | 1,840 W | 6,220 W | 21,223 | No |
| snb130fgamc | SNB130FGAMC | 13 cm3/rev | 1,200 W | 4,100 W | 13,989 | Yes, different class |
The consequence for a buyer is narrow and practical, and for this part number it is narrower still. A specification block that repeats across two codes cannot be used to choose between those two codes. What distinguishes a FGMMC from a FKMMC is not in the table. And for the code this guide is about, there is a prior problem: no page carries it at all. The exact address for SNB200FNMMC returns HTTP 404, so the code under discussion has neither a manufacturer row nor a reseller page, and both facts belong in the procurement record.
The drive description printed in the voltage field is worth naming as a template defect rather than data. The pages describe the model as an inverter compressor in a field labelled for supply voltage, so no supply voltage is quoted anywhere in this guide and none should be read into that field. The inverter property itself is real and independently sourced: the model code legend marks F as an inverter, and the catalogue's rotary line-up places the SNB series under the inverter heading.
Which refrigerant does the SNB series use, and what does that imply?
R410A is a near-azeotropic blend of two hydrofluorocarbons, R32 and R125, in equal parts by mass, and that composition is what makes the series a regulatory as well as a technical choice. The manufacturer assigns the SNB series to R410A in its rotary line-up table, where the SNB and TNB families sit together under the R410A inverter heading, and every reseller page for the family retrieved in this review prints R410A in its specification block. The assignment is consistent across both sides and is not in dispute here.
| Quantity | R410A | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| ASHRAE designation class | Blend of R32 and R125, near-azeotropic | ASHRAE 34 refrigerant designations |
| Composition | 50.0 and 50.0 by mass | ASHRAE 34 |
| Chemical family | Hydrofluorocarbon | ASHRAE 34 |
| Manufacturer series assignment | SNB and TNB, inverter rotary | Manufacturer catalogue, rotary line-up table |
| Reseller conformance | R410A printed on every SNB page retrieved | Reseller specification blocks |
| EU regulatory direction | Hydrofluorocarbons to be phased out of the EU market by 2050 | European Commission F-gas page |
| Blended global warming potential | Not quoted in this guide | No retrievable source could be confirmed, see the note below |
One number that a buyer would reasonably want is deliberately absent from that table, and the omission is recorded rather than hidden. R410A's blended global warming potential is not quoted here because the source that would normally carry it could not be confirmed this round: the environment agency table used for that figure in an earlier guide in this series now returns HTTP 404, and the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change chapter consulted for atmospheric lifetimes did not yield its numerical table to text extraction. Rather than carry a remembered value, the guide states the composition, which is sourced, and points the compliance reader at the regulation itself.
What follows from the composition is directional and does not depend on the missing value. R410A is a hydrofluorocarbon blend, and hydrofluorocarbons are the group the European Union's 2024 fluorinated greenhouse gas regulation phases out of the EU market by 2050. The European Commission reports that hydrofluorocarbons were still the largest single fluorinated gas use by carbon dioxide equivalent in 2023 and that their use fell by 10 percent in 2024 compared with 2023. None of that makes an SNB200FNMMC unavailable, and it would be wrong to present it as if it did: the regulation governs placing hydrofluorocarbons and the equipment containing them on the market, not the continued operation of an installed compressor, and the phase-down is a schedule running to 2050 rather than a switch.
The practical consequence for a project is narrower than the regulatory language suggests. A buyer specifying this compressor for equipment destined for the European Union should establish the equipment-level obligations that apply to their own product rather than assuming a compressor-level specification settles the question, and the total lifetime cost calculation should include refrigerant handling, recovery and any future charging restrictions. Because the blend's climate impact is not quoted here, that cost calculation should be built from the regulation's own figures rather than from this guide.
Do the printed numbers reproduce arithmetically?
Every numeric claim on the reseller pages for the SNB family was re-derived from the page's own other numbers. The audit separates a table that was computed from a table that was copied, and it is worth running here because this production line has previously been shown to convert watts to BTU per hour at 3.4 rather than at the standard 3.412. The relationship tested was the imperial capacity, which should equal the metric capacity multiplied by 3.41214 BTU per watt-hour.
| Model row | Capacity W | Printed BTU/h | Implied factor | Standard factor gives | Deviation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SNB200FGMMC | 6,220 | 21,223 | 3.411736 | 21,223.51 | minus 0.51 BTU/h, 0.00 percent |
| SNB200FKMMC-L1 | 6,220 | 21,223 | 3.411736 | 21,223.51 | minus 0.51 BTU/h, 0.00 percent |
| SNB130FGAMC | 4,100 | 13,989 | 3.411951 | 13,989.77 | minus 0.77 BTU/h, 0.01 percent |
The conversion at 3.4 is not present in this family's reseller listings. The implied factor on both SNB200 rows is 3.411736 and on the SNB130 row it is 3.411951, both within 0.01 percent of the standard factor, so the earlier defect recorded elsewhere in this production line does not extend to these pages.
The coefficient of performance was audited separately, because the reseller prints none while the manufacturer prints one for each of its four rows. Dividing the reseller's capacity by its own input reproduces a coherent figure in both classes, and the same relationship reproduces the manufacturer's printed values row by row, which is what makes the two sides comparable at all.
| Model row | Capacity W | Power W | Capacity divided by power | Printed COP | Agrees |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SNB092FQAMT | 2,780 | 872 | 3.1881 | 3.19 | Yes |
| SNB110FGYMT | 3,294 | 1,033 | 3.1888 | 3.19 | Yes |
| SNB130FGBMT | 3,912 | 1,254 | 3.1196 | 3.12 | Yes |
| SNB172FEKMT | 5,237 | 1,636 | 3.2011 | 3.20 | Yes |
| SNB130FGAMC | 4,100 | 1,200 | 3.4167 | Not printed | Not applicable |
| SNB200FGMMC | 6,220 | 1,840 | 3.3804 | Not printed | Not applicable |
What the audit establishes is bounded, and the bound matters. It establishes that the reseller's SNB table is internally coherent: whoever built it converted to imperial units correctly, and the implied efficiencies it contains are arithmetically consistent with its own capacity and input columns. It does not establish that the capacity figure is right, and it cannot, because internal coherence is a property a wrong number can have just as easily as a right one. A table can be arithmetically perfect and still describe a different rating point than the one a project needs. The audit therefore removes one possible explanation for the disagreement against the manufacturer, the explanation that the reseller simply miscalculated, and leaves the disagreement standing.
How does the SNB200 sit in the R410A inverter line-up?
Position in a displacement ladder is the cheapest selection tool available and the most reliable, because it needs no performance data at all. The manufacturer's rotary line-up groups the R410A inverter families as SNB and TNB, with SNB the smaller of the two. The SNB series table then runs from 9.2 to 17.2 cm3/rev, and the 20.0 cm3/rev step this guide's model denotes sits above the top of that published run. The TNB series continues upward from 22.0 cm3/rev, and the manufacturer publishes 220 and 306 rows for it; the reseller carries an SNB220 page in the class above.
| Step | Series and code | Displacement cm3/rev | Capacity W | COP | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | SNB092 | 9.2 | 2,780 | 3.19 | Manufacturer catalogue; SNB092 page |
| 2 | SNB110 | 11.0 | 3,294 | 3.19 | Manufacturer catalogue; SNB110 page |
| 3 | SNB130 | 13.0 | 3,912 | 3.12 | Manufacturer catalogue; SNB130 page |
| 4 | SNB172 | 17.2 | 5,237 | 3.20 | Manufacturer catalogue; SNB172 page |
| 5 | SNB200 | 20.0 | Not published | Not published | Reseller page only |
| 6 | TNB220 | 22.0 | 7,130 | 3.24 | Manufacturer catalogue |
| 7 | TNB306 | 30.6 | 9,880 | 3.28 | Manufacturer catalogue |
The ladder is useful for the negative inference as much as the positive one, and here the negative inference is unusually strong. The step above 20.0 cm3/rev is the TNB220 at 22.0, and the manufacturer publishes a complete row for it: 7,130 W of cooling capacity at 2,200 W of input, a coefficient of performance of 3.24, a mass of 14.0 kg and an oil charge of 870 cm3. A project that needs more than the SNB200 class can deliver therefore does not need a differently suffixed SNB200; it needs to step up to the TNB series, where published data exists at every rung. Reading down the ladder and then confirming the chosen rung's rating point is a faster and safer route than choosing between suffix variants whose pages print one identical table.
Two design differences between the adjacent series are visible in the published rows and are worth stating because they change the mechanical constraint rather than the performance figure. The TNB rows carry a speed range of 15 to 120 revolutions per second against the SNB family's 15 to 130, and their masses and oil charges are a step larger, 14.0 kg and 870 cm3 against 7.8 to 8.8 kg and 350 to 700 cm3. A project stepping up a displacement class should expect a heavier machine and a larger oil charge, not a drop-in replacement.
Which standards govern the performance claim?
Four separate standards questions sit behind a compressor part number, and they are frequently confused with one another. The first is what the refrigerant is, which is a designation question. The second is how the performance figure was measured, which is a rating question. The third is whether the machine is safe, which is a product safety question. The fourth is how the equipment containing it is tested, which is a system question. A reseller page can settle none of them, and a manufacturer catalogue settles only the second and part of the first. The distinction matters because a capacity figure quoted without its rating standard is not a specification at all.
| Question | Standard | What it settles | Link status |
|---|---|---|---|
| What is the refrigerant? | ASHRAE Standard 34 | Refrigerant designations, composition and safety classification | Published page is reachable |
| How is compressor performance rated? | AHRI Standard 540 | Performance rating of positive displacement refrigerant compressors and compressor units | AHRI standards portfolio is reachable; the standard is named by number only |
| How is compressor performance rated in Europe? | EN 12900 | Rating conditions, tolerances and presentation of manufacturer performance data for positive displacement compressors | Named by number only; no reachable official page was located |
| Is a hermetic motor compressor safe? | IEC 60335-2-34 | Particular requirements for motor compressors | Published entry is reachable |
| Is commercial refrigeration equipment safe? | IEC 60335-2-89 | Particular requirements for commercial refrigerating appliances with an incorporated or remote refrigerant unit or compressor | Published entry is reachable |
The rating question is the one that decides whether any number in this guide can be used, and for this code it produces an unusually clean answer. The manufacturer's four SNB rows are traceable to a stated method: 54.4 C condensing, 7.2 C evaporating, 27.8 K superheat, 8.3 K subcooling, and rated voltage plus or minus 10 percent. The reseller's figure for the 20.0 cm3/rev class is traceable to nothing, and the manufacturer publishes no row for that class at all. Under either the American or the European rating standard a manufacturer publishing a capacity figure is expected to publish the conditions and tolerances alongside it, which is why the catalogue carries a conditions footnote and why the absence of the same information on the reseller page is a substantive defect rather than a formatting omission.
Which applications does the SNB200FNMMC suit?
The application question for this code has to be answered from series-level evidence, because code-level evidence does not exist. The manufacturer places the SNB series under the R410A inverter heading in its rotary line-up, and the published rows establish an inverter rotary with a 15 to 130 revolutions per second speed range and a reference-condition coefficient of performance just above 3.1. Those properties, not any single capacity number, are what determine fit.
| Application | Fit for the SNB200FNMMC | Reasoning |
|---|---|---|
| Capacity-modulating air conditioning | Strong fit | The family is an inverter rotary with a published 15 to 130 rps range, which is what modulation requires |
| Systems needing roughly 5 to 7 kW of R410A cooling | Conditional fit | The reseller figure for this class is 6,220 W, but has no rating condition; confirm at the design point |
| Systems needing a documented capacity figure at a stated condition | Poor fit as specified | No manufacturer row exists for the 20.0 cm3/rev step |
| Applications above the SNB200 class | Poor fit | Step up to the TNB series, whose 220 row is published at 7,130 W |
| On-off duty without modulation | Poor fit | The family is inverter driven; the fixed-speed R410A rotary families are the RN, PN and NN series |
| Low-temperature refrigeration | Not established | No SNB-specific evaporating envelope was located, so no claim is made in either direction |
| Applications requiring a low global warming potential refrigerant | Not suitable as configured | R410A is a hydrofluorocarbon blend, and the EU phase-down runs to 2050 |
| Applications requiring a certificate for the compressor | Not established | No certificate for this code was sighted |
Two rows deserve emphasis because they are the two ways this compressor is most likely to be misapplied. The first is any application that needs a documented capacity number at a stated condition rather than an indicative one. For this particular code that documentation does not exist on either side, and a project whose design cannot proceed without it should either move to a published SNB row at 17.2 cm3/rev or step up to the published TNB220 row, both of which carry full manufacturer data. The second is on-off duty: the family is inverter driven, and a project that needs simple on-off control should be looking at the fixed-speed R410A rotary families instead.
One row is deliberately left unstated rather than estimated. The guide makes no claim about low-temperature refrigeration for this series, in either direction, because no SNB-specific evaporating envelope was located. In an earlier guide in this series the same manufacturer published a per-family limits table that fixed a minimum evaporating temperature, and no equivalent table for the SNB family was retrieved here. Stating a limit borrowed from another family would be a fabrication, so the row stands empty and the gap is registered.
How do you specify an SNB200FNMMC compressor for a project?
- Decide the refrigerant first. If the system is not an R410A system, this compressor is the wrong family and the rest of the checklist does not apply.
- Confirm the refrigerant in writing with the supplier even though the series assignment is documented, because the position that would carry a refrigerant code inside this part number is not decoded.
- Fix the rating point. State the condensing temperature, evaporating temperature, superheat and subcooling the design will see, because no published capacity exists for this code at any condition.
- Ask for the capacity at that rating point rather than accepting a catalogue figure, and expect the answer to come from the supplier rather than from a published table.
- Compare the quoted figure against the published SNB172 row above and the published TNB220 row below, which bracket the class with fully documented data.
- Quote the complete part number including every suffix position, because two codes in this class share one specification block and the exact code has no page of its own.
- Establish the power supply configuration in writing, since the letter carried after the inverter marker in this code is not decoded by any published legend.
- Confirm the inverter drive parameters against the published 15 to 130 revolutions per second speed range, which is common to every published SNB row.
- Check the mass and oil charge against the mechanical design envelope, using the published 7.8 to 8.8 kg and 350 to 700 cm3 of the neighbouring SNB rows as the expected order of magnitude rather than as data for this code.
- Resolve refrigerant compliance obligations for the destination market before the design freezes, because the phase-down schedule for hydrofluorocarbons in the European Union runs to 2050 and a design with a multi-year production life may outlive the assumptions it was specified under.
Frequently asked questions about the Mitsubishi SNB200FNMMC
Is the SNB200FNMMC an inverter compressor?
Yes. The model code legend marks F as an inverter, and the letter in that position in this code is F. The manufacturer's rotary line-up places the whole SNB series under the inverter heading for R410A.
What displacement does the SNB200FNMMC have?
20.0 cm3/rev. The three-digit field divided by ten gives the displacement, and that rule was verified against four catalogue SNB rows and two reseller pages spanning six distinct codes before being applied here.
Does Mitsubishi Electric publish performance data for this exact code?
No row for the 20.0 cm3/rev step was located in the manufacturer catalogue. The published SNB table runs from 9.2 to 17.2 cm3/rev, so the 20.0 step is above the top of the manufacturer's published run for this family. Any capacity figure for this class comes from a reseller page.
Where is the capacity figure of 6,220 W from?
It is printed on the SNB200FGMMC page, which is a different code in the same displacement class. It carries no stated rating condition, which is why this guide reports it as a reseller figure and never uses it in a comparison without saying so.
Is there a page for this exact model on the reseller site?
No. The exact address returns HTTP 404. The nearest pages are the 20.0 cm3/rev class pages for the SNB200FGMMC and SNB200FKMMC-L1 codes, which print one identical specification block.
Why are only two SNB200 codes on the site when eight similar codes exist elsewhere?
The reseller's site carries eighteen SNB pages in total, and two of them are in the 20.0 cm3/rev class. The count is a property of that catalogue's coverage, not of the manufacturer's range, and it is why the exact code in this guide has no page of its own.
What efficiency should be used in a system model?
None from this guide for this code, because no manufacturer figure exists at this displacement and the reseller figure has no stated condition. If a documented efficiency is required, use a published row: 3.12 at 13.0 cm3/rev or 3.20 at 17.2 cm3/rev, both at 54.4 C condensing and 7.2 C evaporating, or 3.24 at 22.0 cm3/rev in the TNB series.
What data could not be verified for this model?
No manufacturer performance row for the 20.0 cm3/rev step. No page for this exact code on the reseller site; the Mitsubishi rotary compressor range is the nearest group listing. No decoded meaning for the letter carried after the inverter marker, or for the trailing MMC letters. No SNB-specific operating limits table, so no evaporating envelope is claimed. No sound power level. No certificate. And no confirmed source for the blended global warming potential of R410A, which is therefore not quoted. Each of these is an absence, and each is recorded as an absence rather than filled with a neighbouring row.
Sources and further reading
The manufacturer material in this guide comes from the Mitsubishi Electric refrigerant compressor catalogue and from Mitsubishi Electric's international and European compressor sites. The catalogue's original host address no longer resolves and the copy linked below is hosted by a refrigerant distributor, so it is cited as a manufacturer document on a third-party mirror rather than as an official download. The refrigerant and regulatory material comes from the refrigerant designation standard and the European Commission. The reseller listings are cited for what they claim, not for what they prove.
| Source | What it supplied | Link |
|---|---|---|
| Mitsubishi Electric refrigerant compressor catalogue | Model code legend, rotary line-up, SNB series table, test conditions | Catalogue copy |
| Mitsubishi Electric compressor product page | Compressor production bases including MGC, rotary technologies | Official page |
| Mitsubishi Electric compressor range, Europe | Compressor range positioning for scroll and rotary pistons | Official page |
| MGC product line, R134a | Manufacturer product lines and manufacturing scope | Manufacturer site |
| MGC product overview | Manufacturer profile, production scope | Manufacturer site |
| ASHRAE Standard 34 | Refrigerant designations and the R32 and R125 blend composition | Published page |
| AHRI standards portfolio | Performance rating standards for positive displacement compressors | AHRI |
| IEC 60335-2-34 | Motor compressor safety requirements | IEC webstore |
| IEC 60335-2-89 | Commercial refrigerating appliance safety requirements | IEC webstore |
| European Commission, fluorinated greenhouse gases | Regulatory direction, phase-down schedule, market data | European Commission |
| European Commission, about F-gases | Global warming potential definition and the F-gas ladder | European Commission |
| International Energy Agency, the future of cooling | Growth of space cooling as an energy end use | IEA |
| REHVA journal | Difficulty of comparing seasonal efficiency across standards | REHVA |
| Eurovent article on seasonal efficiency | Seasonal efficiency metrics for cooling equipment | Eurovent |
| Reseller SNB200 pages | The specification block under discussion, live at retrieval | SNB200FGMMC, SNB200FKMMC-L1 |
| Reseller SNB130 page | The 13.0 cm3/rev overlap used for the manufacturer comparison | KB130 class |
| Reseller rotary category page | Group listing of the Mitsubishi rotary range | Category |
| Reseller Mitsubishi hub | Mitsubishi compressor range overview | Hub |
| Reseller article, compressor selection | Background on how manufacturers select compressors | Article |
| Reseller article, rotary comparison | Rotary compressor product family discussion | Article |
| Reseller article, hermetic compressor | Hermetic compressor application discussion | Article |
| Reseller news index | Site content index for related reading | Index |
MITSUBISHI SYB140FAPMC Inverter Rotary Compressor
Mitsubishi Rotary Compressor KB122YPEC
Related Article