MITSUBISHI SYB140FAPMC Inverter Rotary Compressor
Mitsubishi SYB140FAPMC Twin Rotary Inverter Compressor: R32 Technical Data, Code Structure and Selection Guide
The Mitsubishi SYB140FAPMC is an inverter-driven hermetic twin rotary compressor built for R32 and R410A systems by Mitsubishi Electric's Guangzhou operation. Its three-digit field denotes 14.0 cm3/rev displacement. The manufacturer catalogue consulted for this guide publishes no SYB model and no R32 family, so the performance figures here come from an OEM service manual rather than a Mitsubishi catalogue.
Key facts about the Mitsubishi SYB140FAPMC
The table below distinguishes three grades of evidence, and the Basis column is the point of it. A figure reprinted in an OEM service manual and a figure printed on a distributor listing are not the same kind of fact, and neither of them is a manufacturer catalogue row. Where nothing at all is published, the table says so rather than borrowing the nearest sibling model.
| Item | Value | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Model code under discussion | SYB140FAPMC | Requested designation |
| Series | SYB, twin rotary, inverter | Teardown report, identifies the code as a twin rotary compressor |
| Compressor type | Rotary, hermetic, twin rotary, inverter driven | Teardown report; OEM service manual lists it as a hermetic motor compressor |
| Manufacturing operation | Mitsubishi Electric Guangzhou | Teardown report |
| Refrigerant in the documented applications | R32 | Teardown report describes the host unit as an R32 system; the OEM service manual is an R32 unit |
| Refrigerant the series is described as accepting | R410A and R32 | Teardown report |
| Displacement | 14.0 cm3/rev | Derived from the three-digit field, decode verified against six codes below |
| Operating frequency range | 10 to 140 Hz | Teardown report |
| Cooling capacity | 4.55 kW | OEM service manual, recorded against the SYB140FAPMC-L3 variant |
| Power input | 1.44 kW | Same, recorded as compressor power input |
| Implied coefficient of performance | 3.16 | Derived, capacity divided by input |
| Manufacturer catalogue row for this code | None located | The catalogue edition consulted lists no SYB model |
| Manufacturer catalogue row for the SYB series | None located | Same; the catalogue carries no R32 family at all |
| Reseller page for the exact code | None found | The exact address returns HTTP 404 |
| Reseller page for the SYB series | One, at 28.0 cm3/rev | SYB280FBAMC-L page, retrieved 2026-09-28 |
| Lowest published test condition | Not published | No SYB evaporating envelope was located, so no limit is claimed |
| Sound power level | Not published | Absent from every source retrieved |
| Certification held by this compressor | None sighted | No certificate was retrieved, so no certification claim is made |
Three entries in that table do most of the work, and two of them are absences. The SYB series is not in the manufacturer catalogue edition this guide could obtain, which is an older edition that carries no R32 family at all, so no SYB figure in this article is presented as a manufacturer catalogue value. The reseller site carries no page for this exact code, so its 28.0 cm3/rev sibling is the only SYB listing available and it turns out to be incomplete. And the capacity and input figures that do exist come from an OEM service manual, which is a stronger source than a distributor listing but a weaker one than a catalogue.
What does the SYB140FAPMC model code decode to?
Mitsubishi Electric publishes a rotary model code legend in its refrigerant compressor catalogue, and the legend itself is the first thing to be careful with. It defines groups of codes, not positions: it states that V, G, Y, R, W, S and N are power supply codes, that B, E and N are refrigerant codes, and that F marks an inverter, but it does not print a diagram assigning each code group to a numbered position. The catalogue's own worked example is printed as S N B 130 F G B M T.
| Segment | Value in SYB140FAPMC | Meaning | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Series letters | SYB | SYB series, twin rotary | Not covered by the catalogue legend; series name taken as printed |
| Three-digit field | 140 | Displacement code, divided by ten | Verified against six codes, table below |
| Inverter marker | F | F marks an inverter in the model code legend | Manufacturer catalogue, rotary model code legend |
| Option positions | A, P, M | Not decoded | No published legend covering these positions was located |
| Trailing letter | C | Not decoded | Same |
| Suffix seen on this code elsewhere | -L3 | Variant designation, not decoded | OEM service manual prints SYB140FAPMC-L3 |
Two features of that table deserve to be stated plainly rather than explained away. The first is that the letter A occupies a position the catalogue legend does not assign to anything. In the catalogue's example the corresponding position holds G, which is a power supply code, but A appears in no published code list at all, so the option positions of this part number cannot be read off any legend this guide could obtain. The second is that the suffix positions vary across the family without a published key: the same displacement and option block appears in this review as -L, -L1, -L2, -L3 and -S forms on neighbouring models, and no source consulted explains what separates them.
| Suffix form | Model carrying it | Where it appears |
|---|---|---|
| -L3 | SYB140FAPMC-L3 | OEM service manual, listed as the compressor fitted to an R32 air to water unit |
| -L | SYB280FBAMC-L | Reseller page |
| -L2S | SVB172FNQMC-L2S | Reseller page |
| -S | SVB140FBCMC-S | Reseller page |
The practical consequence is narrow and it is the same conclusion the code structure forces: a buyer should quote the complete part number including every suffix position and have the exact variant confirmed in writing, because the published address does not resolve the suffixes and two codes that differ only in a suffix have been observed sharing one specification block.
Does the displacement field decode consistently in this family?
The three-digit field is not defined by the legend either, so it cannot be assumed and it has to be tested. Six codes spanning three families carry both a three-digit field and a printed displacement, and in all six the field divided by ten equals the printed displacement. Two of the six are SYB codes, which is what allows the 14.0 cm3/rev figure for this code to be treated as settled even though no catalogue row publishes it.
| Code | Field divided by 10 | Printed displacement | Source | Agrees |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SYB140FAPMC | 14.0 | 14 cm3/rev | Teardown report, printed as 14CC | Yes |
| SYB280FBAMC-L | 28.0 | 28 cm3/rev | Reseller page | Yes |
| SVB140FCAMC | 14.0 | 14 cm3/rev | Reseller page | Yes |
| SNB140FCAMC | 14.0 | 14 cm3/rev | Reseller page | Yes |
| SNB200FGMMC | 20.0 | 20 cm3/rev | Reseller page | Yes |
| SNB130FGAMC | 13.0 | 13 cm3/rev | Reseller page | Yes |
The rule holding inside the SYB family at both of its published points is what makes it usable here. The 140 field is not being decoded by analogy with a different family; the same family prints 28 cm3/rev against its 280 field, and 14 cm3/rev is printed against the 140 field by an independent teardown. The displacement is therefore a solid figure. What the rule cannot supply is any performance value at that displacement, and this guide does not derive one from it.
What does the manufacturer publish for this series?
The answer for the SYB series specifically is nothing, and the reason is a version boundary rather than an oversight. The catalogue edition this guide could obtain carries a rotary inverter compressor table with four families, and every one of them is covered below. The table has no SYB column and the document contains no mention of R32 anywhere, which places the edition before the R32 generation that the SYB series belongs to.
| Property | CBB | SBB | SNB | TNB |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Type | Twin rotary inverter | Twin rotary inverter | Twin rotary inverter | Twin rotary inverter |
| Displacement cm3/rev | 9.2 to 13.0 | 17.2 to 22.0 | 9.2 to 17.2 | 22.0 to 30.6 |
| Refrigerant | R134a | R134a | R410A | R410A |
| Maximum condensing | 2.60 MPa at 81 C | 2.60 MPa at 81 C | 4.16 MPa at 65 C | 4.16 MPa at 65 C |
| Evaporating pressure | 0.10 to 0.79 MPa | 0.10 to 0.79 MPa | 0.23 to 1.59 MPa | 0.23 to 1.59 MPa |
| Evaporating temperature | minus 10 C to 35 C | minus 10 C to 35 C | minus 27 C to 26 C | minus 27 C to 26 C |
| Compression ratio | below 8 | below 8 | below 9 | below 9 |
| Discharged gas maximum | 115 C heat pump | 115 C heat pump | 120 C heat pump | 120 C heat pump |
| Suction gas superheat minimum | 0 K | 0 K | 0 K | 0 K |
| Discharged gas superheat minimum | 10 K | 10 K | 10 K | 10 K |
That table is genuinely useful for a buyer even though it does not cover this model, and it is useful precisely because of how it is organised. It confirms that twin rotary inverter construction is not a special case in this manufacturer's range but the standard architecture across four families and two refrigerants, from 9.2 cm3/rev up to 30.6 cm3/rev. It also shows that the envelope belongs to the refrigerant, not to the frame size: the two R134a families and the two R410A families share their limits within their refrigerant group, and the R410A group is allowed a wider evaporating range, a far higher condensing pressure, and a higher maximum discharge gas temperature.
For this code the table's contribution is a boundary rather than a value. The SYB series sits in the R32 generation that follows the edition, so the R410A column's numbers belong to a different refrigerant and the R134a column's belong to a different refrigerant again. Neither is transferred to the SYB140FAPMC in this guide, and no evaporating limit is claimed for it in either direction.
What does the reseller site publish for the SYB series?
The site carries 201 pages for Mitsubishi inverter compressors, and exactly one of them is an SYB page. That page is for a larger compressor in the same series, and its specification block is incomplete in a way that is worth showing rather than summarising, because the missing fields are as informative as the present ones.
| Field | SYB280FBAMC-L page | Present |
|---|---|---|
| Model | SYB280FBAMC-L | Yes |
| Displacement | 28 cm3/rev | Yes |
| Input | Not printed | No |
| Capacity | Not printed | No |
| Imperial capacity | Not printed | No |
| Refrigerant | Not printed | No |
| Voltage field | INVERTER Compressor | Occupied by a drive description |
| Coefficient of performance | 3.32 W/W | Yes |
| Dimension field | 236.1A/mm | Yes |
| Usage | AC, drier, refrigeration, chiller | Yes |
Two defects are visible in that block, and both are the same kind the rest of this site's listings show. The voltage field is occupied by a drive description rather than a voltage, so no supply voltage can be read off it and none is quoted in this guide. And the block omits the input, the capacity, the imperial capacity and the refrigerant while retaining a coefficient of performance, which is arithmetically impossible to check: a coefficient of performance is a ratio of capacity to input, and both of those terms are absent.
The second defect has a shape that suggests a cause without proving one. The surviving pair in that block, a coefficient of performance of 3.32 and a dimension of 236.1A/mm, are the same pair printed by a different family's page in the same 14.0 cm3/rev class. Two fields agreeing exactly across a 28.0 cm3/rev model and a 14.0 cm3/rev model is consistent with a row having been filled from a neighbouring record and left partly overwritten, which is the pattern already documented elsewhere on this site. It is reported as a coincidence of values and not asserted as the explanation, because a page cannot be interrogated about how it was built.
| Field | SYB280FBAMC-L, 28.0 cm3/rev | SVB140FCAMC, 14.0 cm3/rev | Identical |
|---|---|---|---|
| Coefficient of performance | 3.32 W/W | 3.32 W/W | Yes |
| Dimension field | 236.1A/mm | 236.1A/mm | Yes |
| Displacement | 28 cm3/rev | 14 cm3/rev | No |
| Capacity | Not printed | 4,550 W | Not comparable |
| Refrigerant | Not printed | R32 | Not comparable |
The consequence for a buyer is that this one SYB listing cannot be used to select any SYB model, including the 28.0 cm3/rev model it is about. It cannot supply an input, a capacity, an imperial capacity or a refrigerant, it cannot be arithmetically cross-checked, and one of the two fields it does print agrees exactly with a differently sized compressor elsewhere on the same site. It is registered here as an unusable source rather than a partial one.
How does the SYB140FAPMC compare at 14.0 cm3/rev?
The 14.0 cm3/rev step is the only one where the SYB code can be placed against anything at all, because it is the only step at which another family prints a full specification block. Four codes sit at that displacement across three flavours of the same architecture, and putting them side by side is the closest this guide can come to a comparison for this compressor.
| Quantity | SYB140FAPMC-L3 | SVB140FCAMC | SVB140FBCMC-S | SNB140FCAMC |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Family and refrigerant | SYB, R32 | SVB, R32 | SVB, R32 | SNB, R410A |
| Displacement cm3/rev | 14.0 | 14.0 | 14.0 | 14.0 |
| Capacity | 4.55 kW | 4,550 W | 4,550 W | 4,380 W |
| Power input | 1.44 kW | 1,370 W | 1,370 W | 1,310 W |
| Coefficient of performance | 3.16 implied | 3.32 printed | 3.32 printed | 3.34 printed |
| Dimension field | Not published | 236.1A/mm | 236.1A/mm | 230.1A/mm |
| Stated rating condition | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Source | OEM service manual | Reseller page | Reseller page | Reseller page |
The capacities cluster and the inputs do not, and the shape of that is worth reading carefully. The SYB code's 4.55 kW and the two SVB codes' 4,550 W agree to the printed resolution, which is what the shared displacement would predict. The R32 pair then sits 170 W above the R410A code on the same displacement, and that direction is expected, because R32 carries a higher volumetric capacity than R410A. Where the SYB code separates from the SVB pair is input: 1.44 kW against 1.37 kW, which pulls its implied coefficient of performance down to 3.16 against their printed 3.32. Two explanations fit and neither can be eliminated here, because none of the four rows states a rating condition. It may be a different rating point, since a lower condensing or higher evaporating temperature would move capacity and input together. It may also be a genuinely different electrical variant, which the differing suffix supports, since this code is published as -L3 and the SVB pair as unsuffixed and -S.
The comparison also repeats the defect documented one table earlier. The two SVB rows print identical blocks: same displacement, same capacity, same input, same coefficient of performance, same dimension, one suffix apart. Nothing in either block distinguishes the unsuffixed code from the -S code, so a buyer selecting between them has no published basis for the choice, which is the same conclusion the SNB200-class variants forced in a neighbouring family.
Widening the view one step gives the displacement ladder the site actually stocks, which is the cheapest selection tool available because it needs no performance data at all. Reading down it, the site's R32 listings run from 14.0 cm3/rev to 28.0 cm3/rev with the R410A SNB listings interleaved, and the 20.0 cm3/rev and 28.0 cm3/rev steps are where the site's own data gives out.
| Displacement cm3/rev | Code | Capacity W | Input W | Refrigerant | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 13.0 | SNB130FGAMC | 4,100 | 1,200 | R410A | Reseller page |
| 14.0 | SVB140FCAMC | 4,550 | 1,370 | R32 | Reseller page |
| 14.0 | SNB140FCAMC | 4,380 | 1,310 | R410A | Reseller page |
| 17.2 | SVB172FNQMC-L2S | 5,450 | 1,735 | R32 | Reseller page |
| 17.2 | SVB172FNPMC | Published by machine name only | Not comparable | R32 | Reseller page, title and family only |
| 20.0 | SNB200FGMMC | 6,220 | 1,840 | R410A | Reseller page |
| 28.0 | SYB280FBAMC-L | Not printed | Not printed | Not printed | Reseller page, incomplete block |
The ladder's value here is negative rather than positive, and that is the honest use of it. Above 17.2 cm3/rev the site's blocks begin losing fields: the 20.0 cm3/rev SNB200-class row keeps capacity, input and refrigerant but has no manufacturer counterpart, and the 28.0 cm3/rev SYB row keeps almost nothing. A project that needs a documented R32 figure in that upper range therefore has one working step at 17.2 cm3/rev and nothing usable above it, which is a stronger statement about sourcing risk than any single number in this article.
Do the printed numbers reproduce arithmetically?
Every numeric claim on the reseller pages was re-derived from the page's own other numbers, because a table that was computed and a table that was copied behave differently under the same test. This production line has previously recorded a site converting watts to BTU per hour at 3.4 rather than at the standard 3.41214, so the conversion was audited family by family rather than once for the whole site, and the result is that the defect is still present on some rows and absent on others.
| Model row | Capacity W | Printed BTU/h | Factor 3.4 predicts | Standard 3.41214 predicts | Printed value matches |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SNB140FCAMC | 4,380 | 14,945 | 14,892.0 | 14,945.2 | Standard factor |
| SNB200FGMMC | 6,220 | 21,223 | 21,148.0 | 21,223.5 | Standard factor |
| SVB140FCAMC | 4,550 | 15,470 | 15,470.0 | 15,525.2 | Factor 3.4, exactly |
| SVB172FNQMC-L2S | 5,450 | 18,530 | 18,530.0 | 18,596.2 | Factor 3.4, exactly |
The pattern is clean and it is not noise. Both R410A SNB rows reproduce the standard factor to within half a BTU per hour, which is rounding. Both R32 SVB rows reproduce the factor 3.4 to the unit, with no residue at all: 4,550 multiplied by 3.4 is 15,470 exactly, and 5,450 multiplied by 3.4 is 18,530 exactly. A conversion that lands exactly on an integer multiple of a non-standard factor is not a rounding artefact, it is the factor that was used. So on this site the imperial column is family-dependent, and any cross-family comparison built on the BTU figures alone would be comparing two different conversions.
| Model row | Capacity W | Input W | Capacity divided by input | Printed COP | Agrees |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SVB140FCAMC | 4,550 | 1,370 | 3.3212 | 3.32 | Yes |
| SVB140FBCMC-S | 4,550 | 1,370 | 3.3212 | 3.32 | Yes |
| SNB140FCAMC | 4,380 | 1,310 | 3.3435 | 3.34 | Yes |
| SVB172FNQMC-L2S | 5,450 | 1,735 | 3.1412 | 3.14 | Yes |
| SNB200FGMMC | 6,220 | 1,840 | 3.3804 | 3.38 | Yes |
| SYB140FAPMC-L3 | 4,550 | 1,440 | 3.1597 | Not printed | Not applicable |
The efficiency column behaves differently from the imperial column, and the difference matters. Every printed coefficient of performance on the site reproduces from its own capacity and input to two decimal places, so the ratio column was computed rather than copied, for both refrigerant families. The SYB code's ratio in the last row is derived here from the OEM service manual's two figures and is not printed by anyone, which is why it is labelled implied rather than printed.
What the audit establishes is bounded, and the bound is the useful part. It establishes that the site's blocks were built from capacity and input columns by someone who understood the ratio and, on the R410A rows, also understood the imperial conversion. It does not establish that any capacity figure is correct, and it cannot, because internal coherence is a property a wrong number can have just as easily as a right one. It also does not resolve the family-dependent conversion, which remains an unexplained inconsistency reproduced in the table above rather than smoothed over.
Which refrigerant does the SYB140FAPMC use?
The honest answer has two parts, and they are not the same claim. In the applications where this code has been documented, the host equipment runs R32. At the series level, the only source that describes the SYB family's refrigerant scope calls it compatible with both R410A and R32 rather than assigning it to one. Both statements are sourced, neither contradicts the other, and the practical instruction that follows from holding them together is to confirm the refrigerant against the project rather than against the part number.
| Quantity | R32 | R410A | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Composition | Single component | Blend of R32 and R125, 50.0 and 50.0 by mass | ASHRAE 34 refrigerant designations |
| Chemical family | Hydrofluorocarbon | Hydrofluorocarbon | ASHRAE 34 |
| Series carrying it here | SYB | SNB and TNB | Teardown report; manufacturer catalogue line-up table |
| Host equipment documented for this code | R32 ducted air conditioning and an R32 air to water unit | Not documented in this review | Teardown report; OEM service manual |
| Series-level scope | Described as accepting R410A and R32 | Same source | Teardown report |
| Flammable refrigerant provisions | Required, per the OEM service manual | Not applicable to this review | OEM service manual, R32 safety and minimum floor area provisions |
| Blended global warming potential | Not quoted in this guide | Not quoted in this guide | No retrievable source could be confirmed, see below |
| EU regulatory direction | HFCs phased out of the EU market by 2050 | Same | European Commission F-gas page |
Two of those rows carry consequences a project has to plan for. The first is the composition difference. R410A is a near-azeotropic blend of two hydrofluorocarbons in equal parts by mass, while R32 is a single-component fluid, so a system charged with R32 and a system charged with R410A are not interchangeable even though they share one component and, on this evidence, one compressor family. That is consistent with the series being described as accepting both rather than as belonging to one, because the compressor's internal design has to tolerate the lubricant and pressure differences rather than the refrigerant identity being fixed by the model code.
The second is the handling requirement, and for this code it is not a formality. The OEM service manual for the R32 unit in which this compressor is fitted carries a full set of flammable refrigerant provisions, including a minimum floor area table and an instruction that leak detection equipment be placed at a low position in the outdoor unit. A project specifying this compressor therefore inherits an A2L-class handling obligation at the system level, and that obligation attaches to the equipment design rather than to the compressor's own specification. It does not make the compressor unsuitable for any particular application, but it does mean the refrigerant choice is a system design decision that has to be settled before the compressor is ordered.
One number that a buyer would reasonably want is deliberately absent from that table. The blended global warming potential of neither fluid is quoted here, because no retrievable source could be confirmed for it this round. The European Commission pages consulted define the metric and set out the phase-down ladder without carrying a value for either refrigerant, and the environment agency table used for that figure in an earlier guide in this series now returns HTTP 404. Rather than carry a remembered value, the guide states the compositions, which are sourced, and points the compliance reader at the regulation itself.
What follows from the phase-down direction is directional and does not depend on the missing value. Hydrofluorocarbons are the group the European Union's fluorinated greenhouse gas regulation phases out of the EU market by 2050, and the European Commission reports that they were still the largest single fluorinated gas use by carbon dioxide equivalent in 2023 and that their use fell by 10 percent in 2024 compared with 2023. R32 sits inside that group while carrying a materially lower global warming potential than the blend it is replacing, which is why it appears across this generation of equipment rather than being exempt from it. None of that makes an SYB140FAPMC unavailable, and the regulation governs placing the fluid and the equipment containing it on the market rather than the continued operation of an installed compressor.
Which standards govern the performance claim?
Four separate standards questions sit behind a compressor part number, and they are frequently run together. The first is what the refrigerant is, which is a designation question. The second is how the performance figure was measured, which is a rating question. The third is whether the machine is safe, which is a product safety question. The fourth is how the equipment containing it is tested, which is a system question. A distributor listing settles none of them, and for this code even the OEM service manual settles only part of the first.
| Question | Standard | What it settles | Link status |
|---|---|---|---|
| What is the refrigerant? | ASHRAE Standard 34 | Refrigerant designations, composition and safety classification | Published page is reachable |
| How is compressor performance rated? | AHRI Standard 540 | Performance rating of positive displacement refrigerant compressors and compressor units | AHRI standards portfolio is reachable; the standard is named by number only |
| How is compressor performance rated in Europe? | EN 12900 | Rating conditions, tolerances and presentation of manufacturer performance data for positive displacement compressors | Named by number only; no reachable official page was located |
| Is a hermetic motor compressor safe? | IEC 60335-2-34 | Particular requirements for motor compressors | Published entry is reachable |
| Is commercial refrigeration equipment safe? | IEC 60335-2-89 | Particular requirements for commercial refrigerating appliances with an incorporated or remote refrigerant unit or compressor | Published entry is reachable |
The rating question is the one that decides whether any number in this guide can be used, and for this code it produces a clear answer with a clear gap. The 4.55 kW and 1.44 kW figures sit in an OEM service manual's compressor table, and a service manual is a document written for technicians replacing parts rather than for engineers comparing products. It prints the two figures this guide reuses and omits what makes them comparable. The site's rows have the same fault and add a second one, since their blocks have no column for a rating condition at all. Under either the American or the European rating standard, a party publishing a capacity figure is expected to publish the conditions and tolerances alongside it, which is why a missing conditions footnote is a substantive defect rather than a formatting omission.
Which applications does the SYB140FAPMC suit?
The application question for this code has a firmer footing than the performance question, because the two documented installations are specific and known. Both are R32 equipment built by one manufacturer, one a ducted residential air conditioner and one an air to water heat pump, and both use this compressor at a capacity in the region of four and a half kilowatts. Those two data points, together with the published 14.0 cm3/rev displacement and the 10 to 140 Hz range, are what determine fit.
| Application | Fit for the SYB140FAPMC | Reasoning |
|---|---|---|
| R32 ducted residential air conditioning | Documented fit | The code is fitted in a 7.2 kW R32 ducted unit, reported in a teardown of that unit |
| R32 air to water heat pumps | Documented fit | Listed in an OEM service manual for an R32 air to water unit at 4.55 kW |
| Capacity-modulating systems | Strong fit | Published operating range of 10 to 140 Hz, which is wide for a 14.0 cm3/rev compressor |
| Vibration-sensitive installations | Strong fit | Twin rotary construction is the architecture the manufacturer uses across four inverter families |
| Systems needing roughly 4.5 kW of R32 cooling at a stated condition | Conditional fit | A capacity is published, but without its rating condition, so it must be confirmed at the design point |
| R410A retrofits of an existing R32 design | Not established | The series is described as accepting both fluids, but no rating data at R410A was located for this code |
| Applications requiring a documented capacity in the 20.0 to 28.0 cm3/rev range | Poor fit | Step to a code with a published block; the site's upper-range SYB and SNB200-class listings lose fields |
| Low-temperature refrigeration | Not established | No SYB evaporating envelope was located, so no claim is made in either direction |
| Applications requiring a certificate for the compressor | Not established | No certificate for this code was sighted |
Two rows deserve emphasis because they are where this compressor is most likely to be misapplied. The first is any project that must start from a documented capacity at a stated condition. For this code that documentation does not exist on any side, and a design that cannot proceed without it should either move to a step with a full published block, such as the 17.2 cm3/rev R32 listings, or obtain the rating point from the supplier in writing. The second is the working range: twin rotary construction and a 10 to 140 Hz span make this a modulation compressor, so a project needing simple on-off control is looking at the wrong class of machine rather than at the wrong model.
One row is deliberately left unstated rather than estimated. The guide makes no claim about low-temperature refrigeration for this series in either direction, because no SYB evaporating envelope was located and the manufacturer's published envelope table covers four families that do not include it. Stating a limit borrowed from a family at a different refrigerant would be a fabrication, so the row stands empty and the gap is registered.
How do you specify an SYB140FAPMC compressor for a project?
- Settle the refrigerant at system level first. Determine whether the design is R32 or R410A, because the series is described as accepting both and no rating data at R410A was located for this code.
- Read the flammable refrigerant obligation before the design freezes. If the answer is R32, the minimum floor area and leak detection provisions in the OEM documentation apply to the equipment and change the installation rather than the compressor choice.
- Confirm the refrigerant in writing with the supplier even though the documented applications are R32, because the part number does not encode the refrigerant unambiguously and the series is dual-compatible by description.
- Quote the complete part number including every suffix position. This code is published as -L3 elsewhere, the family carries -L, -L1, -L2, -L3 and -S forms, and no published key separates them.
- Fix the rating point. State the condensing temperature, evaporating temperature, superheat and subcooling the design will see, because the published 4.55 kW carries no condition.
- Ask for the capacity at that rating point rather than accepting the service manual figure, and expect the answer to come from the supplier rather than from a published table.
- Confirm the operating frequency window against the drive. The published 10 to 140 Hz range is wider than most 14.0 cm3/rev compressors and it determines the low-load behaviour the system can reach.
- Check the displacement class against neighbouring options before committing, because the site's 13.0 and 20.0 cm3/rev R410A listings and its 17.2 cm3/rev R32 listings bracket this step with published blocks.
- Establish the power supply configuration in writing, since the option positions of this part number are not decoded by any published legend.
- Resolve refrigerant compliance obligations for the destination market before the design freezes, because the phase-down schedule for hydrofluorocarbons in the European Union runs to 2050 and a design with a multi-year production life may outlive the assumptions it was specified under.
Frequently asked questions about the Mitsubishi SYB140FAPMC
Is the SYB140FAPMC a twin rotary compressor?
Yes. A teardown of a ducted unit fitted with this code identifies it as a twin rotary compressor built by Mitsubishi Electric's Guangzhou operation, and the manufacturer's catalogue uses twin rotary construction as the standard architecture across all four of its published inverter families. Twin rotary means two compression chambers offset on a common shaft, which is the design the manufacturer pairs with inverter drives at this displacement.
What displacement does the SYB140FAPMC have?
14.0 cm3/rev. The three-digit field divided by ten gives the displacement, and that rule was verified against six codes spanning three families before being applied here, including both published points within the SYB family itself. The teardown report independently prints 14CC against this code.
What refrigerant does the SYB140FAPMC use?
In the two documented installations the host equipment is R32, and distributor listings market this code for R32 systems. The source that describes the series calls it compatible with both R410A and R32, so the refrigerant should be confirmed against the project rather than assumed from the part number. The OEM documentation for the R32 installation carries flammable refrigerant handling provisions.
Does Mitsubishi Electric publish a catalogue row for this code?
No. The catalogue edition consulted for this guide contains no SYB model and no R32 family at all, which places the edition before the generation this compressor belongs to. Its published rotary inverter table covers CBB, SBB, SNB and TNB across two refrigerants. No SYB row was located in any catalogue, so no figure in this guide is presented as a catalogue value.
Where do the 4.55 kW and 1.44 kW figures come from?
They come from an OEM service manual, recorded against the SYB140FAPMC-L3 variant as capacity and compressor power input. Dividing one by the other gives a coefficient of performance of 3.16, which is derived here and printed by no source. The manual states no rating condition for either figure.
Is there a page for this exact model on the reseller site?
No. The exact address returns HTTP 404. The site carries 201 pages for Mitsubishi inverter compressors and exactly one of them is an SYB page, for the SYB280FBAMC-L at 28.0 cm3/rev. That page's block omits input, capacity, imperial capacity and refrigerant, so it cannot substitute for the missing code page.
What operating range does this compressor cover?
The published operating frequency range is 10 to 140 Hz, which is wide for a 14.0 cm3/rev compressor and is what allows deep part-load modulation. No evaporating or condensing envelope specific to the SYB series was located, so no temperature limit is claimed here in either direction.
What data could not be verified for this model?
No manufacturer catalogue row for this code or for the SYB series. No reseller page for this code, and the one SYB page that does exist is arithmetically uncheckable because it omits both terms of its own efficiency ratio. No rating condition for the 4.55 kW and 1.44 kW figures. No decoded meaning for the option positions or the suffix. No SYB operating envelope, so no evaporating limit is claimed. No sound power level. No certificate. No confirmed source for the global warming potential of either refrigerant, which is therefore not quoted. Each of these is an absence, and each is recorded as an absence rather than filled with a neighbouring model.
Sources and further reading
The manufacturer material in this guide comes from the Mitsubishi Electric refrigerant compressor catalogue and from Mitsubishi Electric's international, European and Guangzhou sites. The catalogue's original host address no longer resolves and the copy linked below is hosted by a refrigerant distributor, so it is cited as a manufacturer document on a third-party mirror rather than as an official download. The model-specific technical facts come from an independent teardown report and from an OEM service manual, and both are cited as third-party documents rather than manufacturer publications. The reseller listings are cited for what they claim, not for what they prove.
| Source | What it supplied | Link |
|---|---|---|
| Mitsubishi Electric refrigerant compressor catalogue | Model code legend, rotary inverter family table, envelope limits, SNB series table, test conditions | Catalogue copy |
| Independent teardown of a ducted unit fitted with this code | Twin rotary identification, 14CC displacement, 10 to 140 Hz range, Guangzhou manufacture, R32 and R410A series scope, host application | Teardown report |
| OEM service manual, R32 air to water split unit | 4.55 kW capacity and 1.44 kW input against the -L3 variant, hermetic motor classification, R32 flammable refrigerant provisions | Service manual |
| Mitsubishi Electric compressor product page | Compressor production bases including the Guangzhou operation, rotary technologies | Official page |
| Mitsubishi Electric compressor range, Europe | Compressor range positioning for scroll and rotary pistons | Official page |
| Mitsubishi Electric Guangzhou product line | Manufacturer product lines and manufacturing scope | Manufacturer site |
| Mitsubishi Electric Guangzhou product overview | Manufacturer profile, production scope | Manufacturer site |
| ASHRAE Standard 34 | Refrigerant designations, R32 as a single component fluid and R410A as an R32 and R125 blend | Published page |
| AHRI standards portfolio | Performance rating standards for positive displacement compressors | AHRI |
| IEC 60335-2-34 | Motor compressor safety requirements | IEC webstore |
| IEC 60335-2-89 | Commercial refrigerating appliance safety requirements | IEC webstore |
| European Commission, fluorinated greenhouse gases | Regulatory direction, phase-down schedule, market data | European Commission |
| European Commission, about F-gases | Global warming potential definition and the F-gas ladder | European Commission |
| International Energy Agency, the future of cooling | Growth of space cooling as an energy end use | IEA |
| REHVA journal | Difficulty of comparing seasonal efficiency across standards | REHVA |
| Eurovent article on seasonal efficiency | Seasonal efficiency metrics for cooling equipment | Eurovent |
| Reseller SYB page | The one SYB listing on the site, and its incomplete specification block | SYB280FBAMC-L |
| Reseller R32 pages at 14.0 cm3/rev | The comparison class for this code, and the 3.4 imperial conversion | SVB140FCAMC, SVB140FBCMC-S |
| Reseller R410A page at 14.0 cm3/rev | The R410A counterpart at the same displacement | SNB140FCAMC |
| Reseller R32 page at 17.2 cm3/rev | The next published R32 step, and the second 3.4 conversion row | SVB172FNQMC-L2S |
| Reseller R32 page, title and family only | Family position above the 17.2 cm3/rev step | SVB172FNPMC |
| Reseller R410A page at 20.0 cm3/rev | The R410A step above this displacement | SNB200FGMMC |
| Reseller R32 page at 42.1 cm3/rev class | Wider R32 range context for the family | MVB42FCPMC |
| Reseller rotary category page | Group listing of the Mitsubishi rotary range | Category |
| Reseller Mitsubishi hub | Mitsubishi compressor range overview | Hub |
| Reseller article, compressor selection | Background on how manufacturers select compressors | Article |
| Reseller article, rotary comparison | Rotary compressor product family discussion | Article |
| Reseller article, hermetic compressor | Hermetic compressor application discussion | Article |
| Reseller news index | Site content index for related reading | Index |
MITSUBISHI TNB306FPPMC Rotary Inverter Compressor
Mitsubishi Rotary Compressor SNB200FNMMC
Related Article